Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / How long did it take you to be as good as you are?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Nov 2003 17:26
Hello.

I bought DBpro and am trying to learn it however I find it hard sometimes...just when I get my head around a set of commands, I either get bombarded with new commands and forget everything, or disheartened and lay off for a few days. My question is, how long did it take you to get to where you are in terms of skill? And can you give any tips...they would be greately received..thanks.

Karribu

I wouldn't be so paranoid if people would just stop looking at me!
Mnemonix
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Nov 2003 18:37
I am pretty new to this scene of game making myself. I can offer you little advice in way of remembering commands. What you have to do is realise what you want your game/program to achieve and figure out each individual task the program must do. Certain commands in the language will be associated with most tasks. i.e. loops. Other commands will be task specific and they are organised on the menu this way. The best thing to do is always break your program down into smaller fragments that work together. Think of it as cogs in a machine. Take one cog out and it falls apart.

"We are getting aggravated"
"Yes, we are"
John H
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Nov 2003 19:43
We are all still on the learning process. I have been getting better ever since I started DBing a year 1/2 ago