Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Overclocking a pIII?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Nov 2003 22:00
Another overclocking question. I've never done that before, but I've got my old machine which isn't TOO bad, and I could probably do some useful work on it if it was a bit faster. I guess I could conceivably code on that one, and leave this machine for heavy duty stuff like rendering and modelling.

It seems a waste to just use it as a server for my home network...

Below there's some data about it in the code section.

Are there any good articles about overclocking out there? Is it even possible? I've heard that the Pentium 3 is clock-locked, but I don't know what that means. Perhaps one could tweak the bus instead?

So, anyone know any good resources to find out? Or do you know if it can be done, and how to do it?

Thanks in advance!

cheers,
Microman

-----
They SAID that given enough time a million monkeys with typewriters could recreate the collected works of William Shakespeare... Internet sure proved them wrong.
-----
Shadow Robert
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Nov 2003 23:54
Quote: " L1 I-Cache : 16K Byte
L1 D-Cache : 16K Byte
L1 T-Cache : ----
L1 Cache : ----
L2 Cache : 0K Byte
L2 Speed : ---- "

WTF!? 64kb Cache in total?! ... what the hell did the previous owner do to this poor defenseless CPU??
It should have a 16kb Level 1 and a 512kb Level 2

To Survive You Must Evolve... This Time Van Will Not Escape His Fate!
MicroMan
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Nov 2003 00:44