Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / 3D design for gaming

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hey all!

Basically I need help in developing a moving 3d character of myself with buildings in the background but I am completely lost on how to do this! All I know is that I am using autodesk 3ds max...So if any one can help me on this it would be much appreciated
Travis Gatlin
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd May 2012 06:11
You may want to start on the basics. You can't make an accurate 3D model of yourself from just starting off. I've been doing it for 3 years now and can't do that too well. Not saying that it will take you that long but it's very well possible. Character modeling is very difficult and takes a LOT of good practice. The buildings may be a bit easier though, depending on the quality of them that you want. Like cartoony or realistic.

http://www.talenthouse.com/travisgatlin
You can find my latest work here. Please comment on my work and tell me what you think!
rolfy
Years of Service
User Offline
You might be better to use an existing 3d character model and re-texturing the face with your own. There are a couple of threads I am sure around these forums on this and if you open an existing texture you will find that its nowhere near as difficult to do as modeling/rigging and animating from scratch.

Awesome! Its one of those threads.
Seppuku Arts
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd May 2012 10:50
I have written up a little resource on character modelling that also provides 2 links at the bottom that ought to help.

http://seppukuarts.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/3d-modelling-character-modelling-methods/