Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Scripts / text script help

Author
Message
riccetts
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 19th Jun 2012 09:09
I'm trying to get two lines of text at one time. Is this possible?
Heres my script

;Artificial Intelligence Script

;Header

;desc =on screen text
:state=0:state=1
:state=1,plrdistwithin=60:fpgcrawtextsize=30,fpgcrawtextfont=Arial,fpgcrawtextr=255,fpgcrawtextg=255,fpgcrawtextb=255,fpgcrawtextx=50,fpgcrawtexty=80,fpgcrawtext=Go find the captian upstairs!,
fpgcrawtextsize=30,fpgcrawtextfont=Arial,fpgcrawtextr=255,fpgcrawtextg=255,fpgcrawtextb=255,fpgcrawtextx=52,fpgcrawtexty=80,fpgcrawtext=Good luck Wade

;WAIT UNTIL PLAYER LEAVES THE ZONE OR ENTITY
:state=1,plrdistfurther=60
;NO REPEAT
;End of Script
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 19th Jun 2012 16:51
Two lines at once using fpgcrawtext? No,I dont think so.You can have the text scroll,first one line then the next. If you really need two lines at once just make a HUD with your text and trigger it.
Meows
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Oct 2011
Location: Totally over the Rainbow
Posted: 19th Jun 2012 21:45 Edited at: 19th Jun 2012 22:34
Quote: "I'm trying to get two lines of text at one time. Is this possible?"


Somewhat possible, if you are using 1.19 or better.

Here is how. Thanks to SceneCommander for sharing this with me.

Place a StoryZone trigger, in the MAIN place this code
rawtext.fpi


Now scroll to the Media and in Audio type in the first line of text
and in the Visual type in the second line of text.

As the player passes the StoryZone trigger the text will display.

OR USE
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=181108&b=21

Life is a short trip to another world
Troutflies
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2011
Location: Stuck outside my map.
Posted: 19th Jun 2012 22:40
Ihave played around with fpgcrawtext alot lately. I believe you can accomplish two lines of displayed text with timers. Just have the first timer long enough to display the first line and keep it displayed until the next line appears. Which if it is a "work around" It would seem like more trouble that it would be worth, when you could just make a normal display hud and have that appear when triggered. You could also add a scancodekeypressed condition in there so to the hud displays until you hit whatever key you assign. It should look something like this



This script is set to use the "d" key to unshow the hud. Place it in a trigger's main. I haven't tested I am on a work computer trying to kill time. You can change the plrwithinzone condition to whatever your needs are plrdistwithin=, plrdistfurther, etc.
riccetts
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2010
Location:
Posted: 20th Jun 2012 07:29
I guess I could include next or continue to the end of sentence.
Thanks anyway

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-24 00:32:44
Your offset time is: 2024-11-24 00:32:44