Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / DarkBasic FPS with fpsc?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 16:25 Edited at: 19th Dec 2012 16:27
Hello! i just saw a video on youtube where a guy made a darkbasic game with a fps creator map and fpsc entities, im new to darkbasic and i have a question:it is hard to make a simple fps with darkbasic with a fpsc map? Just a simple game where you have a gun and you shoot enemies
Thank you

~GLaDOS
MrValentine
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 18:08
Pretty much easy based on how you code it... you could alternatively create your own map in MapScape (free) or 3DWS (paid) (ask if you are unfamiliar with these...)

Create your movement code and shooting code and use a collision library to calculate hits ...

Using a physics engine such as PHYSX (DarkPHYSICS) speeds things up a bit ... coding wise...

Ask away

GLaDOS
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 18:15
i Already Made my map with fps creator,loaded it in DBPro with the basic wasd movement but now i have no idea what to do.all i really want is just a enemy that shoots me,a health bar and a gun with ammo.Nothing to ambitious i think. Its that hard?

~GLaDOS
MrValentine
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 18:46
Do some pseudo code and map it out

GLaDOS
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 18:49 Edited at: 19th Dec 2012 19:05
What? Sorry i dont understand
Edit:I Have one problem:I loaded the map from fpsc but all i get its a black screen.i tried with the one wich comes with darkbasic,same
Halp

~GLaDOS
MrValentine
AGK Backer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Dec 2012 19:26