Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Nov 2003 22:19
hello,
i am a high school student interested in the game development/art career. i was wondering if i could have some advice (from experienced game developers/artist) on what i should do to start developing games. i would like to become a game artist/developer as my future career, so any advice on what i should do (collage, practice, ect.) would be very usefull.
thank you,
eric the great

-i am great
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Nov 2003 23:45 Edited at: 15th Nov 2003 23:47
Eric the Great,

Due to the complexity and long hours focused on each aspect of game development, you most likely will be one or the other - Game Developer or Artist, unlikely you will do both on a professional level. Not to say it is impossible as an indy game maker but on a pro level I would suggest you choose which it is you like better and go full throttle at that descipline to achieve your professional goals. These boards are filled with people who do all aspects of game making, ie music, programming, modelling, level design. etc but I think you be hard pressed to find anyone that does a combination of these things on a pro level. Not that the talent isn't there, in some cases, it's just a matter of not enough hours in the day to be all these things - my problem is I am a jack-of-all-trades-master-of-none. Take my advice - focus!

just MHO

-RUST-
eric the great
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 16th Nov 2003 00:00
thanks for the advice.
-do have any suggestions for game programs?
-what would be a good skill to practice? i have heard level design is imortant for developers.

-i am great
CattleRustler