Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / User saves

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
How do I create an option for the user to save their progress in my game and continue off from where they were?

p.s I'm new to dark basic

thanks for the help
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 7th Apr 2013 21:46
Tell us all about the game; is it a platform game, RPG? What kind of levels, 3D? 2D? Does it need save points, can the player save from any location?

Donlan
Years of Service
User Offline
The player doesn't have to save, like a sort of auto save when a certain event happens.

thank you for the reply!
Chris Tate
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Apr 2013 01:55 Edited at: 8th Apr 2013 02:02
Hmm dynamic saving; now that's a cool idea.

I was hoping for you to tell me a little more about the game because that would help me to figure out what I would do; but I'll take a wild, wild guess and assume you are making a 3D adventure game...

I do not know how new you are, but if you are not only new to DBP but new to programming in general then I recommend you follow some beginner tutorials and read some books first, otherwise what I state will just sound like alien language.

Do a search on Daniel's video tutorials, check out my tutorial website: www.binarymodular.com.

Getting started

If you want to be taken through the process of creating the game then you can always ask in this thread or in the forum and I am sure you will get additional help.