Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / help with functions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
ok, trying to create a function for moving the character and collision detection. It gives me a syntax error when I try to use the function. I am fairly new to dbpro so please excuse my ignorance but some help with this would be great.

FUNCTION Charmove(char, char2, char3)

load image char,1
load image char2,2
load image char3,3
sprite 1,xpos,ypos,1
sprite 2,xpos-2,ypos,2
sprite 3,xpos+1,ypos-2,3
sprite 4,xpos+26,ypos,2
sprite 5,xpos+1,ypos+52,3
left = sprite collision(2,0)
up = sprite collision(3,0)
right = sprite collision(4,0)
down = sprite collision(5,0)
If Upkey()=1 and up = 0 then ypos = ypos - 4
if downkey() = 1 and down = 0 then ypos = ypos + 4
if rightkey() = 1 and right = 0 then xpos = xpos + 4
if leftkey() = 1 and left = 0 then xpos = xpos - 4
endfunction
LBFN
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Apr 2013 20:07
I would suggest the following:
1. There is no need to load images every time you execute the function. Load them once somewhere else in the code.
2. It appears that you have created sprites simply for collision checking purposes. Perhaps you could save the x and y positions of the main sprite, check for collision and restore the old coordinates if indeed a collision occurs. I don't know what type of game you are making; perhaps you could describe what you want to do in more detail.
3. Depending upon the size of the sprites, you are likely always going to be colliding with another sprite. The only way I can even get it to move is down using 32 X 32 sprites.