Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Making the various Tools Work Together Seems quite Daunting! I feel duped!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Nov 2003 23:41
Hi all. I purchased a bundle (DarkMatter, DBPro, Carto, Texture Maker, and 3DCanvas) and as I'm digging into this whole suite of software... this seems incredibly hard (and I've been coding for 20+ years now)

Now granted I'm a newbie here and I'm sure I'm still quite ignorant about what is available... but here is something that totally discouraged me:

I was under the impression that scenes made with Carto are "understood" by darkbasic professional (They are a suite of software...that I presumed work together) and I then see a source snippet to use a carto scene in DBPro that is like 5 or more pages long to long a sample scene!

IS this always the case?

(Also...how can you find messages you posted on this website if you didn't make your own thread!

Thanx all in advance... and BTW - I am still excited about this new programming avenue but at the same time discouraged...(I dont quit easy)...especially after shelling out nearly $250 for a software package I decided to master!

-=/Jaze/=-
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Nov 2003 00:38
I don't know what formats CS exports to, but I believe it's a generic package...which includes formats that can be used in DB.

A suggestion...play around with the sample objects and code to see how DB handles them before making your own. At least then you'll know what the constraints are that you need to work within.

BatVink (formerly StevieVee)
http://facepaint.me.uk/catalog/default.php
Jaze
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Nov 2003 00:50