Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Custom shadders, light glow, shaddows and faint reflections. 4 seperate problems.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi there. I'm wondering if the more savvy among you can help me out with working samples I can learn more from than just the basic ones or at least link a better resource base from which I can learn to duplicate the precise effects i'm looking for. I have years of experience in home brew programing, 2d graphics and advanced audio work but i'm a total utter noob when it comes to working with shadders for example and until recently, I knew nothing of 3d graphic design although i'm learning very fast.

Here's what I'm trying to learn how to do any way. Its probably easier to explain it like the following.

Problem 1:
I have a rectangular panel. A box object that's only 1 deep and has been orientated so its facing towards me. Fully textured with a lot of detail. I have a light that's currently shining directly towards that panel. I want that panel to simulate a textured piece of glass. I would like to see glow and a slight degree of reflection and flare from the light that moves around on the glass panel as the camera pan's up and down. I would like to simulate this using shadders as opposed to using 2d trickery or particle effects. Is that possible?

Problem 2:
Said piece of "glass" has a large transparent area with 3d objects visible behind it. I would like that piece of glass to cast a faint slight shadow across the boarder areas the objects behind it.

Problem 3: