Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Jun 2013 18:31
Ok, I've got a basketball model and its texture, but when I add the texture to the model by the .fpe scripting, the model with its texture comes out awfully wrong, nowhere near the place its supposed to be.

I don't know if I have to use a program to add the texture to it correctly (Which I don't think you can) or what...

I am a total newbie at texturing entities themselves (As I can texture segments). I got Misfit Model 3d, Milkshape, and Wings 3d but have no idea how to texture at all.

The advanced game creator + Good listener.

Taking school for game creating and using FPS Creator for starters.
Fenwolf
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Jun 2013 19:03
I'm not great at texturing, but I do know that models have to be UV mapped for the texture to appear properly. I use a free program called UV Mapper. It only loads Wavefront .obj files, so your model will initially have to be in that format. Once the model has been UV mapped. Save out the texture file and the model. The texture file will be in .bmp format. Load it up in a paint program and apply your texture. Note that you'll have to change the color depth of the .bmp file.

You'll also have to save out your .obj file as a .x file, by loading it into a conversion program or a modeling program. I use Blender for loading the .obj and exporting as a .x file.

This should get you started in the right direction. As far as proper UV mapping, look around the forums for tutorials. You should find a few. Good luck.

Life is about living.
Jermiah Jones
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jun 2013 15:37