Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Models and Media / Burnt destory shader -Bond1

Author
Message
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 13th Sep 2013 13:48
Hi,
A while ago I got instruction from Bond1 regardign his MEDUSA burn out technique to use with other models -See link

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=189604&b=24

I tried this agin yesterday but DARK SHADER now makes the model invisible using this shader (in the above link) I do not know why as I am sure I got it going before on an earlier relase.

Has anyone tried the above and got it working on thier own models?

Thanks
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 13th Sep 2013 22:36
Hi SOLO DESIGN
Just tested it out and it seems to be working perfectly "in game", as I don't have DarkShader. But it is working. (V1.20.19f).
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th Sep 2013 12:11
Hi ncmako,

You say it works perfectly 'in game' are you saying the shader sent by Bond1 and it working on the Zombie character from SCI FI pack works as his demo?

Or have you tried this on another character?

I am using v1.19

Thanks
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 16th Sep 2013 17:21
Both SOLO DESIGN. Seems to be working fine. I looked closely
how Bond1 set up scripts & textures. Here is a quick video on a custom character by Rolfy. (excuse the poor quality) But just to show the shader does work on different characters.
Using V1.20.19f (latest beta)
best

Attachments

Login to view attachments
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th Sep 2013 17:49
Thanks for the video ncmako is that character available? have not seen that from Rolfy.

It maybe my texture then I have saved the D2 texture as DDS DXT5 format with alpha included and the alpha has the texture given away by bond1 in the demo.

But the model just dies and no burn out, I will look at this again tonight when I get home from work.
VindiKator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2012
Location:
Posted: 16th Sep 2013 19:48
Awesome.
I had the same idea a few months there but I have not been able to effect such a success that the!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 16th Sep 2013 22:23 Edited at: 16th Sep 2013 22:25
Quote: "It maybe my texture then I have saved the D2 texture as DDS DXT5"

Yes, it may be? I just saved them with "no compression"(with Gimp).
Double check everything in the .fpe as I kept making simple mistakes. But it will work

@ VindiKator
Love those retextures on your weapons. Very good work!
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th Sep 2013 01:36
ncmako/VindiKator - I still do not see where I am going wrong.

The FPE is -

;header

desc = zombie (burnout)

;ai
aiinit = bond1\appear-burnout.fpi
aimain = people\coward10.fpi
aidestroy = bond1\destroywithburnout.fpi
aishoot =
soundset = male

;spawn
spawnmax = 0
spawndelay = 0
spawnqty = 0

;orientation
model = zombie.X
offx = 0
offy = 0
offz = 0
rotx = 0
roty = 0
rotz = 0
scale = 90
fixnewy = 180

;cone of sight
coneheight = 53
coneangle = 50

;visualinfo
textured = Zombie_5_D2.tga
effect = effectbank\bond1\character_burnout.fx
castshadow = 0

;decals
decalmax = 2
decal0 = red
decal1 = blood

;identity details
strength = 100
ischaracter = 1
hasweapon =
isobjective = 0
cantakeweapon = 1

;bodypartslimbinfo (1=head/2=body/3+4=armslr/5+6=legslr)
limbmax = 0

;animationinfo
animmax = 100
anim0 = 190,209
anim1 = 210,234
anim2 = 235,259
anim3 = 260,279
anim4 = 280,299
anim5 = 300,318
anim6 = 319,355
anim7 = 160,189
anim8 = 330,355
anim11 = 0,19
anim12 = 20,39
anim13 = 493,522
anim14 = 40,59
anim15 = 60,79
anim16 = 523,552
anim17 = 120,139
anim18 = 140,159
anim20 = 80,99
anim21 = 100,119
anim31 = 356,380
anim32 = 381,405
anim33 = 381,405
anim34 = 381,405
anim35 = 381,405
anim36 = 406,442
anim40 = 443,462
anim41 = 463,492
anim50 = 553,572
anim51 = 573,597
anim52 = 598,622
anim53 = 623,642
anim54 = 643,662
anim55 = 663,681
anim56 = 682,731
anim57 = 160,189
anim61 = 0,19
anim62 = 20,39
anim63 = 882,911
anim64 = 40,59
anim65 = 60,79
anim66 = 912,941
anim67 = 120,139
anim68 = 140,159
anim70 = 80,99
anim71 = 100,119
anim81 = 732,756
anim82 = 757,781
anim83 = 757,781
anim84 = 757,781
anim85 = 757,781
anim86 = 782,831
anim90 = 832,851
anim91 = 852,881


I am using the zombie in my demo level, I can see him in the map viewer but when I try to test the level the model disappears and only his shadow is seen, after I shoot and kill him nothing happens but a blood splat on the floor. But no burnout , no body nothing.

When I take out the "effectbank\bond1\character_burnout.fx" text from the FPE he then shows up but cannot burn because the FX file is not in FPE



I am using V1.19.009

Can you post your FPE for the zombie test if different to the above please.

Thanks again

I am sure this is a really small issue, just trying to find it is the key.
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 17th Sep 2013 17:34 Edited at: 17th Sep 2013 17:39
Hi SOLO DESIGN
My .fpi is basically the same as yours.(except for some file paths)
Attached is mine. I'm thinking it's either the version your using or the textures
I'm using v1.20.19f

Quote: "is that character available? have not seen that from Rolfy."

It's from Model Pack 70-Demons

Attachments

Login to view attachments
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 17th Sep 2013 23:25
Hi,
See my textures,FPE etc that I still cannot get to work in FPSC.

If you can test these and see if it works for you I will try upgrading to v1.20.19f

Thanks for your help

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 18th Sep 2013 07:40
SOLO DESIGN
Works perfectly for me. I did notice your "I" texture was different. Take a look at "Bond1's" textures, you'll see the "I" texture is just a solid black map. It wont effect the shader ( I don't think it would?) but does help make the "zombie" look better with the "burn out". Anyway, works fine on my end. pic attached.
best

Attachments

Login to view attachments
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Sep 2013 12:17
ncmako, Thank you for testing, you are using the shader - character_burnout.fx and not the one that came with the medusa model?

The only thing it can be then is that it does not work with v1.19.009 so I will move over to the beta version your using and try again.

If that does not work maybe it is my video card? but all other shaders from bond1 work fine so I cannot belive it is that.


Thanks again for your help
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Sep 2013 12:21
Hi,
Where did you get version V1.20.19f, all I can find is V1.20.18 public beta.

Thanks
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 18th Sep 2013 16:36
Quote: "you are using the shader - character_burnout.fx "

Yes I am. The screen shot I posted was using only your files.
One last thought (sorry, but it seems to be a standard question here when shaders are having problems and I already know the answer..lol) Are your "shader effects" turned on?

Quote: "Where did you get version V1.20.19f"

Before updating read what s4real posted here..http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=207839&b=21If you put a lot of work into a project, be careful and backup everything. Remember it is all unofficial still.
http://files.thegamecreators.com/betafiles/FPS_Creator_V120_BETA17a.zip Beta17a the editor seems stable.
http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=197293&b=21&p=39#m2482130
Scroll towards the bottom and you'll see where s4real posted the unoffcial_fpsc_v1.20_beta_19f release. Just copy the .exe into your main folder and your set.
best luck (hope it works and cross your fingers)
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 18th Sep 2013 17:20
Thanks ncmako,
I just tried running dark shader on my work PC, crappy machine with no 3D card to shout about and I loaded the shader and textures and it worked......slowly but it worked.

I tried the same with my machine at home and when I load the shader into Dark shader it makes the model transparent as if it disappears.

My home machine is windows 7 64bit HP ELITE BOOK 8570P

With 16gb of RAM

GRAPHICS
Integrated:
Intel HD Graphics 4000
Microsoft® DirectX®, OpenGL 3.1, OpenCL 1.1, and CUI 4.0
Discrete:
AMD Radeon™ HD 7570M, with 1 GB dedicated GDDR5 video memory
Microsoft® DirectX® 11 with Shader Model 5.0 and support for OpenGL 4.1.

Running on an INTEL I7 processor

So I cannot understand if it is not -

The textures
The shader
The machine

Why am I getting these issues.

I can easily load the medusa model into FPSC and it works no problem, would running anything at the time of running FPSC or DARK Shader stop it working properly? I heard on another thread that people had to stop certain services in order for DARK SHADER to work properly..........

This is very odd and very worrying, I just hope the update to a newer version than V1.19 will sort it out. Fingers crossed!

Cheers



bond1
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 19th Sep 2013 07:57 Edited at: 19th Sep 2013 08:02
AMD card eh? My first thing to check would be to update their drivers, or roll back to a known working driver. AMD makes great hardware, but aren't exactly known for putting out great drivers.

Another thing to try is to force both the vertex shader and pixel shader to use Shader Model 3.0. I have heard stories in the past of AMD cards needing this requirement (Nvidia cards don't care). You can make this change in the shader by changing this line:

VertexShader = compile vs_2_0 mainVS();

to this

VertexShader = compile vs_3_0 mainVS();

SPECS: Intel Corei7 3770k, Nvidia GTX680, 16GB RAM, Win7 Pro
kW-Xport for 3ds Max:http://mjblosser.com/kw-x-port-for-3ds-max/
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 19th Sep 2013 12:09
bond1 many thanks for the info, I will test this.

I cannot understand at the moment why your medusa model and shader works perfectly and this one does not.

Yes it is an AMD card but the laptop is great, very fast and superb with upgrade ability.

I will let you know regarding your advice.

Thanks again for these great shaders.



Regards
Solo
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 20th Sep 2013 01:37
Hi bond1,
Forcing both the vertex shader and pixel shader to use Shader Model 3.0 did the trick.

Many thanks all looks superb!

I now need to add the shadow to the shader and a scream when the entity burns and all will be good!


Thanks again bond1.
bond1
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 20th Sep 2013 08:24
Thanks for letting me know! Now I know for all future shaders how to ensure maximum compatibility.

SPECS: Intel Corei7 3770k, Nvidia GTX680, 16GB RAM, Win7 Pro
kW-Xport for 3ds Max:http://mjblosser.com/kw-x-port-for-3ds-max/
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 20th Sep 2013 16:36
SOLO DESIGN
Glad you got it working. It really is a nice shader effect.
Thank you bond1
best
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 20th Sep 2013 18:05 Edited at: 20th Sep 2013 18:06
Thanks also to your help and testing ncmako.

Yes the shader is great!, its a pity we have not got more enemy start and destroy shaders like this one.

bond1 once mentioned an ice shader where the character forms from ice and then shatters at the end but he must be too busy these days with reloaded etc.

This would be nice and a melting gloop like monster character etc.

Still you never know what is going to happen on these forums!
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2013 18:34
bond1 - I had a thought and not sure if this is possible, but can the burn effect be reversed so the character appears from nothing using a reverse version of the burn effect and then dies the same way?


Thanks again
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 22nd Sep 2013 22:43
Quote: "can the burn effect be reversed "

Yes SOLO DESIGN, it can. Sorry I should have mentioned it before,
but I have already been doing this. Try this...

Place in "appear" script, use a trigger to spawn your character.
Works great, but the "fadein" is rather fast(about 1 to 2 sec's).
The destroy "fadeout" is still the same. If you can figure out
how to slow down the "fadein" that would be great
best
SOLO DESIGN
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jul 2008
Location:
Posted: 4th Oct 2013 13:19
Hi ncmako,
Yes I got this working, looks good on a spawned enemy ut as you say it is a little too quick I have tried to slow it down but with no joy. Perhaps bond1 can help seeing he is the shader guru!

On another note do you use ANIMER?
ncmako
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 4th Oct 2013 21:10
Glad you got it working.
NO, currently not using "Animer". But do plan on buying it soon.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-03 02:28:46
Your offset time is: 2024-03-03 02:28:46