Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / My questions (angles and stuff.)

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Since I'm new to Dark Basic, I'll post my questions in this topic, after I've looked throught he tutorials and programs on the disk and have checked this forum and devolopers network.

My first question:

rem Modify character angle based on left/right keys
stage=0
IF LEFTKEY()=1 THEN a#=a#-8.0
IF RIGHTKEY()=1 THEN a#=a#+8.0
a#=wrapvalue(a#)

rem Modify character position based on up/down keys
IF UPKEY()=1 THEN x#=NEWXVALUE(x#,a#,3) : z#=NEWZVALUE(z#,a#,3) : stage=1
IF DOWNKEY()=1 THEN x#=NEWXVALUE(x#,a#,-3) : z#=NEWZVALUE(z#,a#,-3) : stage=1

I don't understand this, as in what is a#, x#, and z#, and what does stage do? I know what its supposed to do, but how it works confuses me. And I don't fully understand this wrapvalue thing, its supposed to be used if something goes beyond 360 degress, but can you explain more of it?

I hope I don't have to ask many questions in this and can find most of them out myself, but this would be better then to keep picking out new topics. Btw, how do I do that thing where you click on it and text appears?

Webmaster of www.mediashrine.com
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Nov 2003 01:36 Edited at: 26th Nov 2003 01:38
put text within "code" "/code" html tags (wrapped in [....])

as far as wrapvalue, use this function by IanM

the dbp one is broken on large numbers (higher than dbp integer)

stage? that must be some variable from some code snippet you got somewhere - I don't thinks its a command - not sure tho.

-RUST-
nightmare
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th Nov 2003 01:44 Edited at: 26th Nov 2003 01:45