Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Code Snippets / [DBP] - Pythagorean Theorem Calculator

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm just starting to learn and work with DBPro, so I figured I'd try making my own little Pythagorean Theorem Calculator, using mathematical functions.

To calculate the hypotenuse, one will take the Height^2 + Base^2 which will equal Hypotenuse^2. Now just do the exponents of the height and base, and square root the Hypotenuse to get the answer. This is all summed up in "A^2 + B^2 = C^2". This little script that I wrote does just that, all you have to do is punch in the height and the base, and it will be calculated for you.

Please don't give un-constructive criticism or hate, as this is my first script with DBPro. I would however appreciate some feedback and constructive criticism.

Phaelax
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Oct 2013 08:10
Quote: "all you have to do is punch in the height and the base, and it will be calculated for you."

Nope, sorry but it won't.

Your code doesn't really make a lot of sense nor is it a calculator since all 3 values need to be provided by the user.

You have:
C = C^2

Followed by:
C = A+B

Therefore making the first statement pointless. All the code really does is take all 3 values and returns the square root of the squared values, or in other words returning the same numbers the user already entered. Your hypotenuse value is taking the square root of the sum of the legs, when it should be taking the sum of the squared legs.

This:

Should be this:

Also, this code will always return true because those variables are never defined, thus always being an empty string which is not equal to "?".