Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Character movement and other things...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi!, i'm a total newbie in DARKBasic. I have both DB and DBP in demo version (DBP = Alienware DBP demo).

I live in Caracas, Venezuela (South America). I'm 15 years old and my english is good so I hope all of you to understand me

Well....I'm trying to make a game to that Alienware competition, but i'm having some problems:

1. I can't make my character move correctly. I can move him, but it moves like shaking, you know, sorta like that, but I want a smooth movement & rotation but I can't do it

2. I can attach the camera to the player object, but I can't rotate it according to the player's angle, you know, like a 3rd person camera, I have looked at some examples but they're fixed cameras, not smooth cameras, like Tomb Raider.

3. I can animate my object, but when I do something like this:

if upkey()=1
rem walk animation 670-720
play object 1,670,720
endif

it only remains in the frame 670 and don't move!, I have tried to use play object, loop object, set object frame....everything! but it doesn't work

Please help me, i'm a bit newbie on these things but I know that I can do something, even if it's simple

This is my first post so please don't blame me if something isn't correct

See ya!!

I'm a newbie
Bishop
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Nov 2003 19:26
first of all, welcome to the forums

i made a small example for myself showing the animations of the alienware model(which you are useing i take it) and here is the code....

controls
arrow keys to move
x and c to use atacks

good luck,
Bishop

p.s.- the animations may be a little jolty....