Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Android / How to get app in fullscreenmode (hide android buttons)?

Author
Message
jlahtinen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2009
Location: Finland
Posted: 11th Mar 2014 10:53


How to hide these?

My AppGameKit project: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=206794&b=48
The Zoq2
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 11th Mar 2014 11:10
I don't think there is a way to hide them using an app, some apps like youtube hide the images to make them less distracting but the bar is still there.

Say ONE stupid thing and it ends up as a forum signature forever. - Neuro Fuzzy
jlahtinen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2009
Location: Finland
Posted: 11th Mar 2014 11:19
Almost all Android games hide these buttons. I can't believe this cannot be done in AGK.

My AppGameKit project: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=206794&b=48
The Zoq2
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Nov 2009
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posted: 11th Mar 2014 17:15
That's odd, I have never seen an app that does hide them, atleast not on my tablet and I don't think phones do either. And it's probably because without them you can't exit or minimise the app propperly. Also, most games also use the back button as a menu button

Say ONE stupid thing and it ends up as a forum signature forever. - Neuro Fuzzy
jlahtinen
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Oct 2009
Location: Finland
Posted: 12th Mar 2014 10:24
I've done some digging and it's actually an Kitkat feature called immersive mode. You can get the buttons to show up by swiping.

I tested more apps and not all are patched to support that, that's correct.


I've just bought a Nexus 5 and this is my first vanilla Android phone, so I didn't know this is a new feature. All of my previous phones had separate buttons (HTC & Samsung).

But I hope this feature will be patcher to AppGameKit v1 also.

My AppGameKit project: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=206794&b=48
Naphier
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2010
Location: St Petersburg, Florida
Posted: 14th Mar 2014 17:19
If you can figure out AGK's use of java for the app you should be able to use this solution
http://www.techrepublic.com/article/give-android-users-an-immersive-experience-by-using-kitkats-full-screen-decor-flags/

To figure out AGK's usage of java is not very simple though, most of the stuff is in AGKHelper.java

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-26 11:42:02
Your offset time is: 2024-02-26 11:42:02