Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
Phaelax
DBPro Master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 20th Mar 2014 02:59
Something I had started work on but never showed because I didn't think anyone would be interested, until I saw this gui threads popping up. So I've started working on it again today.





To switch to another menu, all you gotta do is call ios_SwitchMenu(menuId) once and the rest happens automatically. I've tried to keep the commands as simple as I could. I've also been considering an XML format that lets users design menus even easier.


Phaelax
DBPro Master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 25th Mar 2014 03:46
Here's an update and a download finally. Feel free to use the Roboto font (font used on Android I believe) from this project in your own if you like.

Graphics are a free resource from http://www.teehanlax.com/tools/iphone/


Demo code sneak peak:


Attachments

Login to view attachments
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 26th Mar 2014 00:00
Looks nice and add it to the codebase so I can find it when I nead it

The old one where we posted all our dbp ones also have an agk section.

Android 2.3 , ZTE Skate , 480x800 , 800 mhz , Samsung Galaxy Y , 240x320 , 832 mhz , Sony ericson arc 480x854 , 1 ghz
Android 4.0 , Dmtech 3g 9738B , 1024x768 , 9.7 inches , 1.2 ghz
easter bunny
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2012
Playing: Dota 2
Posted: 26th Mar 2014 03:49
ohhh, I was like "What download? I see no download"
Can you tell I'm using the betaforum

Thanks for this! I might end up using it in my new app I'm making

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 29th Mar 2014 13:16
Quote: "I didn't think anyone would be interested"


We're ALWAYS interested in new GUI systems, particularly for AppGameKit as there are very few or none currently.

Phaelax
DBPro Master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 3rd Apr 2014 10:01
I've attached the most recent updates and all the project files. Documentation is scarce. What I'd like to do is the same thing for Android and just have the code automatically switch the GUI depending on device. Can AppGameKit return any device info?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 3rd Apr 2014 16:28
Wilf
Valued Member
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2006
Location: Gone to Unity.
Posted: 4th Apr 2014 12:53
Excellent stuff Phaelax, you post some of the most useful code I've seen on the forum.
Feature request - smooth slowdown and bounce on hitting extents when scrolling lists up and down.
Phaelax
DBPro Master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 5th Apr 2014 03:59
Quote: "Feature request - smooth slowdown and bounce on hitting extents when scrolling lists up and down."


Already planned

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 5th Apr 2014 17:05 Edited at: 5th Apr 2014 17:07
Quick screenshot from a very early version of my GUI library. It's a bit different to your library, Phaelax, in that it's designed to be just a normal GUI library and not trying to emulate anything in particular. I hate writing GUIs but it's gotta be done. Not trying to hijack your thread, either....just felt like posting this somewhere.

It's unfortunate that AppGameKit doesn't really handle the writing of GUIs very well because it's difficult to mask sprites for things like scrollboxes....

I am soooo tired right now.... ZZZZzzzz....



Phaelax
DBPro Master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 5th Apr 2014 21:45 Edited at: 5th Apr 2014 21:45
Quote: " it's difficult to mask sprites for things like scrollboxes...."

spriteScissor!

Clonkex, I feel like we're always working on similar projects

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 6th Apr 2014 01:51
Quote: "spriteScissor!"


!!! Somehow I knew if I said I couldn't do it, you'd tell me how! Cheers!

Quote: "Clonkex, I feel like we're always working on similar projects"


Haha! Well I suppose that's partially because I started by steeling your code to rewrite it, and then I had to make a GUI for my game because there wasn't any that would do what I wanted

Phaelax
DBPro Master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 7th Apr 2014 04:58
Just so you know, there's a scissor command for text as well.

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 7th Apr 2014 06:08
Quote: "Just so you know, there's a scissor command for text as well."


I know, I went and looked immediately after you reminded me of SetSpriteScissor

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-23 13:25:17
Your offset time is: 2024-02-23 13:25:17