Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

iOS and MacOS / 'Files' in iOS - I just don't get it!

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 29th Dec 2014 17:06
Hello all,

I'm a newbie to iOS. I’ve managed to get my app running now on my iPad (Woo!), however I’m most confused by FILES in iOS.

On Windows and mac, there's obviously the user's documents directory where my program can save files (e.g. with a 'Save As…' option.)

On iOS, apps such as 'Pages' do store their own files – but where?! iCloud?

I'd like my app to be able to export text files from the app – but where would these actually go? getdocumentspath(), when run on iOS, gives a long path. Should I try to save there?

Thanks in advance for any advice,

James
xGEKKOx
AGK Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Dec 2014 02:09
Are you coding in Tier 1 or Tier 2?
In Tier 2 you must use OBJ C to do that and give to the app the file permissions in the project.
Apps are sandboxed so you can't do all what you can, but only some things.

Explain me what you wanna do.

Jambo B
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Dec 2014 16:21 Edited at: 31st Dec 2014 16:23
Hi Gekko - thanks for your help.

I'm using Tier 1.

Part of the app involves a list of words which the user can edit. The words can be exported so that the user can share them with someone else, or as a backup.

I've got this working in Windows:

...but of course, iOS does not support the raw path thing. How would the user save their word lists (to share with someone or as a backup)?

Thanks again,

James
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Jan 2015 01:36
Jambo B, you don't need to set the write path for any platform.