Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Windows / Setting up AGK with VS 2013

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
So I recently decided to make the switch from basic to C++ after writing a complete test game in basic.

I downloaded and installed VS 2013, and copied the 2013 template project into VS... But now I'm stuck.
I'm not new to C++, but I am new to Visual Studio. Previously, all my code (c++ or not) was written in gedit or emacs and compiled via command line, as is university custom. Haha...
How do I add the AppGameKit libraries to Visual Studio so that I can compile the base template?
I've tried copying the libraries into Visual Studio\VC\crt\src and \VC\include, and it found the libraries after that, but the namespace AppGameKit didn't work and I got an error about glext.h not being found.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? There's not much google can offer on VS 2013, for some reason.
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Oct 2015 22:57 Edited at: 24th Oct 2015 23:00
It is actually fairly simple. You need to edit the compile/link properties.

Right click on the project (not the soluction itself) in the Solution Explorer and select Properties.

At the very top it allows you to select the Configuration. You will need to set both the Release and Debug configurations. The Release version is for the final product. The Debug version allows you to interactively debug your code. This can be very helpful at times.