Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / Laptop + PC networking help...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Dec 2003 17:22
OK, I'm a total noob at anything networking because I'd never had more than 1 computer until my mom's office issued her a laptop that she doesn't use. I can't tell hardware specifics, but here's a little info:

Objective - I just want to connect my pc and laptop together, like LAN. No fancy networking crap, just connect a laptop to the PC so I can transfer files.

Hardware - The laptop is an IBM R40, not sure about which variant though, as different R40s have different networking stuff, but distuingishing features are WinXP Pro, P4 2.0Ghz processor. It's got a...port looking thing where you plug in the...standard phone cable thing for dial-up, and right beside it is another port thing, but it's wider than the standard phone thing. I suspect that this is the RJ45 (I'm not sure. I don't know what's an RJ45 so I'm guessing). My PC has no LAN hardware whatsoever, but I plan to buy this if it can make the network work: http://www.villman.com/products/specs/linksys/usb100m.asp?code=usb100m&ref=linksys/usb100m.asp.

Questions - So, if I buy the usb network adapter, what else would I need? I mean what kind of cables or anything, and what do I have to do -- simply plug in the adapter, install drivers, and connect whatever cable was needed on the fat phone port looking thing on the laptop and the fat phone port looking thing on network adapter? BTW, the fat phone port looking thing on the laptop has a picture beside it, some sort of label that looks like this (if it were ASCII)

Come to think of it, the label looks just like the label on the network adapter.