Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Goblin Dreams - Early 90s style platformer

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Aug 2017 13:09
I'm new to AppGameKit, so I decided to make a Commander Keen inspired platformer using the wonderful EGA palette (all 16 colors!). In this game you play as Peelu, the goblin dream warrior. You must collect the two lost dream crystals to escape each level. The levels can scroll in all directions, though not all do (like the one in the screenshot - it's a tower so it only scrolls up and down).

You gain points by collecting coins and orbs, as well as by zapping enemies with your trusty wand. The catch is that each zap costs you a few points, and you lose a point every second, so use your wand wisely and don't dawdle too much. If you reach zero points, that's okay - you just can't zap again until you find a way to get some points. If you die, you start at the beginning of the current level with zero points.

Anyway, it's getting close to finished but still a work in progress. The core game is done and I have a handful of fully working levels and enemies. My target platform is HTML5, and it will be released as a freebie on itch.io.

Richard_6
Years of Service
User Offline
Looks fun and cool, jhanson! Looking forward to see it!!!
jhanson
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Aug 2017 21:23
Thank you for the kind words. I'm having fun working on it, though I'm looking forward to wrapping it up so I can get on to my next one.