Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / possible to stop a big fan with physics?

Author
Message
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 18:26
Lets say a big fan is stopping Your way, is it possible to stop that fan with lets say a buildingbrick or a plank, like in Half Life2? Or maybe its possible with scripting???
Mriganka
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Jun 2014
Location: Virtuality
Posted: 24th Aug 2017 20:34
Nope. Not with physics. Only workaround with smart scripting.
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 25th Aug 2017 18:00
Thats to bad... Any ideas how sutch a script courld look?
ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 25th Aug 2017 22:08
Mr Love I think a good script would/maybe better than the using physics anyway
You would have more control of the situation ? Is you fan small like a "vent" type or something bigger?
Quote: "stop that fan with lets say a building brick or a plank, like in Half Life2?"

Ok, what you could try is making the object (entity) the player throws into the "fan" a "key"
We have a command "anykeywithinzone=x" I have not used it yet, but if it works, the key would
trigger the "fan" to come to a stop ??? yes/no It should work.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 26th Aug 2017 15:40
"anykeywithinzone=x" Thats seems rather "intresting" for being diplomatic, but withinzone is a very big area. And the room is only one segment. How is that going to work out?
ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 26th Aug 2017 17:56
Mr Love
Quote: " but withinzone is a very big area"

No, it's attached to a trigger (zone) An entity "key" (not the kind player uses for a door)
that player picks up, then throws into triggerzone. That activates "fan" to be destroyed.
Place the trigger right around the fan where player would throw "key" entity.
Quote: " And the room is only one segment"

Then triggerzone should fit perfectly?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
xlghostlx
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Dec 2012
Location:
Posted: 26th Aug 2017 18:02
i've an idea, but i don't really know if it works and if could, i don't know how to translate in eng from my lang... :/
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 18:58
Quote: "Then triggerzone should fit perfectly?"


And therein lies the rub. As soon as the key entered the room it would destroy the fan (before he could throw it) , not stop it. Still might be possible with a zone but the zone would have to be behind the fan, and the key would have to go into the fan to reach it. I did something similar Hypnagogia where you had to put a cake into a large mouth to open a door, but the model would have to allow for that and the script would be for an alternate texture.
Characters. You build them a world and what do they do? They moonwalk, get stuck in the walls and fall through the floors!
ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 19:26 Edited at: 27th Aug 2017 19:27
Xplosys Yep you are correct, but I didn't give up, and I did get it to work using the "anykeywithinzone" command.
My triggerzone was placed around my "fan", I named a dynamic entity (plank/board) "Key".
This is my script for the triggerzone...

Pick up entity and throw into "Fan" ( also triggerzone)
That "activated" my fan to stop and/or destroy. And it works Don't know why, but it does, just lucky.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 19:29 Edited at: 27th Aug 2017 19:32
Nice. What would the code look like to make the fan stop?
activated=1:animate=0 ?
Characters. You build them a world and what do they do? They moonwalk, get stuck in the walls and fall through the floors!
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 19:32
Just come up with a really cool idea! Lets say there is a small transformator on the other side of the fan. To stop the fan You have to shoot the transformator between the spinning blades, pretty hard to hit, but with some practice You will hit it, and the fan stops...
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 19:32
I like it!
Characters. You build them a world and what do they do? They moonwalk, get stuck in the walls and fall through the floors!
ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 19:45
@ Xplosys Yes, or what ever you wish, your just triggering the fan script to do something. The "anykeywithinzone" is really meant
for puzzle type games. But has other uses.

@ Mr Love
Quote: "shoot the transformator "

A much better idea !!! And with the shotdamage command, you got it worked out
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 21:15
I tried it out, the problem is that I hit the wall (Tranformator) 80% of the times, bigger blades on the fan is one idea (not going to happen) and perhaps turn up animate speed??? Any other ideas?
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 23:03
I havnt add any inventories yet, but this really give You Half Life vibes, doesnt it?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 27th Aug 2017 23:27
Nice. 2 things...

1. That fan is either blowing into or out of a sealed room.
2. I seems that you could put a trigger zone on the other side of that fan and use anywithin. Then anything you throw at it will break the plane of the zone.
Characters. You build them a world and what do they do? They moonwalk, get stuck in the walls and fall through the floors!
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 28th Aug 2017 00:57
Well, this is just a picture without any entitys or doorsegments, Im working with it now....

1. Its not a sealed room, the vent I came crawling thru is behind Me on the pictures.. I also will add ventilation on the front wall...
2. Break the plane of the zone? Sorry My english is not perfect, and that means?
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 28th Aug 2017 01:34
Break the plane just means to enter it.
Just for fun, put a sound zone behind the fan and see if throwing something at/into the fan makes it work. I would try it but I don't have your fan.
Characters. You build them a world and what do they do? They moonwalk, get stuck in the walls and fall through the floors!
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 28th Aug 2017 20:18 Edited at: 29th Aug 2017 00:38
Quote: "Just for fun, put a sound zone behind the fan and see if throwing something at/into the fan makes it work. "

Ok.. But as ncmako said anykeywithinzone=X wourld do the trick if You want to stop the fan by throwing objects...
xplosys
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Jan 2006
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 29th Aug 2017 00:41
I said behind the fan.... not in front of it.
Characters. You build them a world and what do they do? They moonwalk, get stuck in the walls and fall through the floors!
ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 29th Aug 2017 02:00
@ Xplosys Sorry, but I have to chuckle a little, just a little. ( you know how things get lost in translation )

Mr love The command I suggested (anykeywithinzone=X) is good only if you want the player to throw a certain "specific" object.
xplosys way is best if you throw any-kind of dynamic object into zone.
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 29th Aug 2017 11:25
Well, the small transformator-box is in its place. Just shoot it and the fan will stop. But I cant really make up My mind. If You throw things on the fan, can You freeze the object so it doesnt pop out on the other side, but stays in the fan?
2S!K
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2012
Playing: Working on "This Is Home" an FPSc project
Posted: 29th Aug 2017 18:52
To expand on ncmako & xplosys idea, you can use the withinzone commands with a trigger zone pushed up to meet the edge of the fan on the opposite side of the room. So that as soon as the "key" meets the fan, you can trigger the key/object to be destroyed and trigger the fan to stop and possibly emit sparks or smoke as if the motor broke.

BTW, thats a HUGE!! fan how fast is it moving?
As always, Game on! -2S!K Productions
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 29th Aug 2017 20:11
Quote: "you can trigger the key/object to be destroyed "

How do I do that? The speed is setanimatespeed=150 and use 30 frames for a 360. (Pretty fast) The fan is big 2x2 segments
Im already finished with shoot the electricbox and the fan stops and sound too. But I want the box to explode with a decal, I have tried "activated=2" and decal run once but it just loop and loop! Anyone Who can help with this?
ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 29th Aug 2017 21:05
Mr Love Sounds like you got it almost worked out
Quote: "and decal run once but it just loop and loop"

The "rundecal=0...once face player" "rundecal=2...loops" Try a setting of "=0" but if that's too fast then put in a timer?
Are you activating the decal ??? Example..

My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 29th Aug 2017 21:37
Thanks for the quick answer.. ...Its just that I need the decal running ONE time when the box explodes.. I tried something like this:

:state=0,activated=2:rundecal=0,destroy (Not working ofcourse)

ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 30th Aug 2017 00:38
Mr Love It probably goes thru the rundecal so fast and then destroys itself before decal shows? Maybe?
The "rundecal=0" command only runs it once anyway, you don't need to destroy it.
Make it simple "state=0,activated=2:rundecal=0"
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 30th Aug 2017 16:57
Nothing works with these commandos ncmako, the decal just starts from the gamestart and loop even though I have set "rundecal=0". I name the decal "fan" so I can use the "activated" commando, but does this work with decals?
2S!K
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2012
Playing: Working on "This Is Home" an FPSc project
Posted: 30th Aug 2017 19:56
@Mr Love,
Quote: ""you can trigger the key/object to be destroyed ""

In the trigger zone script use the activateifused=1 action and make it refer to the object. Then in the objects main: activated=1:runfpidefault=2 which will destroy it.
It seems like you will be using the other method so I will not go into further detail explaining how to use multiple objects.
As always, Game on! -2S!K Productions
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 30th Aug 2017 20:19
Ill guess You have to give up 2S!K... Im using the shoot the powerbox method instead...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 31st Aug 2017 01:29
Mr Love Your right, I tested the decal using "activatedifused=2 and it loops?
So I added an extra "state" to the Main decal script and works fine, runs once.

But use the option of shooting the "transformer box" instead. That looks like way more fun
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
2S!K
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jul 2012
Playing: Working on "This Is Home" an FPSc project
Posted: 31st Aug 2017 03:54
@Mr Love, yes thats why I don't want to go into detail with the rest of it.
@ncmako,
Quote: "But use the option of shooting the "transformer box" instead. That looks like way more fun"

yes I agree it seems like an easier solution and more fun.
As always, Game on! -2S!K Productions
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 1st Sep 2017 04:07 Edited at: 1st Sep 2017 06:18
Quote: "But use the option of shooting the "transformer box" instead. That looks like way more fun"

Well, at least it looks more cool with an explosion. Activated=1 worked for Me, not "2"... And sadly adding ,state=1 did not stop the loop... Do You think there is any fix for this? Otherwise I use a smoke decal...
Quote: "yes I agree it seems like an easier solution and more fun."

Well, not easier but more cool...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ncmako
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Feb 2012
Location: Hendersonville,NC
Posted: 1st Sep 2017 10:58
Mr Love
Quote: " Activated=1 worked for Me, not "2""

You should be able to use any number up to "99" I believe?
I used activated=2 triggered by activateifused=2 works fine?
Do they have start & destroy scripts attached ? (appear1/disappear1)
or something else?
My games never have bugs. They just develop random features..
Lots and lots of random features...
Mr Love
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2005
Playing: MAFIA 2
Posted: 1st Sep 2017 20:30 Edited at: 1st Sep 2017 21:10
Quote: "You should be able to use any number up to "99" I believe?"

No, You shourld be able to use any number up to something like 10 million... I know this is weird, but I can only tell You whats working for Me. Also I have collision problems with the electric box, I cant set it to polygon collision mode (=1) I belive its a hacker prank...

So, I am thinking about the other option and throw things into the fan, so it stops... My head is a bit cheesy right now, courld You please tell Me step By step how to do this?

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-10-21 08:16:40
Your offset time is: 2021-10-21 08:16:40