Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Tutorial: How to make an Interrupt Timer in Darkbasic.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Nov 2017 08:20 Edited at: 15th Nov 2017 08:22
I needed a Timer system for my little weekend project and noticed I needed a Timer system similar to things that Visual Basic has in which you can set the time and every second , 5 seconds or whatever that function would get called and your Sprite or whatever you were doing would get updated. After looking around to see if they had it since I am Very new to DBPro I ended up seeing ALOT of people asking the question but no real answers other then setting it up inside your loop and manually calling it whenever needed. That is sort of what I have done here except I have taken out the worry of this out of the programmers hands and assigned it to the SYNC function so that we don't have to bother ourselves with it anymore once its all setup.

Entire program is only around 20 lines of code and honestly could be streamlined and made MUCH more powerful with ease but its 3 in the morning and just figured I would share before I went to sleep because It seems like a lot of people could possibly make use out of something like this.

This code simply calls a function once every second that Rotates a Cube so you get a sort of Ticking motion out of its rotation however you can make any function you wish get called so that it does whatever you want it to.

Enjoy hope this helps someone,
~Sedit
Ortu
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Nov 2017 18:00
A good start

Now expand it to handle multiple timers, variable ticks/durations, and variable callback functions