Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit/AppGameKit Studio Showcase / First little PBR test scene

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi guys, I am new to AppGameKit, toyed with the demo a bit a while ago and got great support when I had some issues, so that sealed the deal for me to focus on AGK.
So far I am impressed, great flexibility and superb speed. Going to start on a game soon, but first I am testing features and trying to push image quality a bit.

For the testing I made a very quick first scene that basically is a summation of everything that is a worst case scenario. Thin long shiny metallic sharply beveled edges (specular aliasing is 10 times worse than edge aliasing ), big area lights very close to geometry, often even touching it, huge flat semi-shiny floor with objects on top in the middle, transparent rough panel that needs blurry refractions, etc. A good way to push and improve my rendering setup.

All lighting/reflection probes are calced in AppGameKit, no lightmaps. Had to completely rewrite my system (had to port it to AppGameKit anyway, so no biggie), the 8-mip probes just weren't good enough to support all the subtle roughness differences.
Probes are fully HDR and can be quite high rez (not too crazy though :p )

Here are some shots from the first test with the level, I added some weird stuff, just for fun: 4x supersampling, FXAA, bokeh DoF, parallaxed fake window with steam on it, realtime AE lights, volumetric soft shadows, ACES tonemapping, etc.