Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Professional Discussion / Converting to/from DBO format - Progress

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Oct 2018 08:45 Edited at: 3rd Oct 2018 08:49
I have been working for a few months very sporadically (95% of it the last 5 days) on converting DBO between different formats byte by byte. My end goal is I want models made in my model editor of choice to be converted to DBO with no jank or missing functionality (like animations or vertex weights). These are longstanding pains people have complained about on these forums.

The first step was to decompile the editor's file format. That was fairly easy. The second step was to decompile DBO file format. That was like 100 times harder. I managed to get this done tonight.

A few things I noticed about DBO format:

Documentation is vague. Thank goodness the source code for DBP is available, and I was able to use that to fill in the knowledge gaps when documentation left information out. This was needed a lot.

DBO files have a few unexplained sections which the documentation promises can be skipped. (Supposedly things like terrain data)

One of the sections of DBO files is called "Arbitrary Value" and the value is an arbitrary number.

The file format stores everything in a sort of optimized manner making it difficult to sort out. Most of the information is stored nested in frames, linked lists and data sets. Contrast that to my editor's file format which lays everything out like dumping an array, much simpler.