Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I want it if i run an alien over, it dies. DIES I TELL U!

Author
Message
GR3G0R
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posted: 23rd Dec 2003 21:11
hey, it's me.
Erm, I'm making a little bike game, where you ride around on a randomized matrix, and there are random alien models. Before I ask for AI and stuff, I was wondering how I would make it so:

If I run over the alien with my bike, instead of the alien having the IDLE.x model, it will change to the DIE.x model. Then how would i stop looping the DIE animation?

Help will be appriciated Thanks

-------------------------
I'm new to DBPro. Don't hate me.
BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 23rd Dec 2003 22:15
You return to the central position, then PLAY (as opposed to LOOP) the sequence you want...

000 - 100 : Idle
100 - 150 : Impact
150 - 200 : Attack 1/Cast Spell
200 - 250 : Fall Down
250 - 300 : Get Up
300 - 350 : Attack 2/Jab
350 - 400 : Duck/Impact 2
400 - 500 : Dance/Play
500 - 550 : Jump
550 - 650 : Leap
650 - 750 : Walk
650 - 670 : Setup to Walk
670 - 720 : Walk Loop
720 - 750 : End of Walk

BatVink (formerly StevieVee)
http://facepaint.me.uk/catalog/default.php
PiratSS
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2002
Location:
Posted: 23rd Dec 2003 23:10
make sure you delete the model via some effect after few seconds.

Because you don't want to end up having many polyigons on your screen.

"Talk doesn't cook rice." -Chinese proverb
GR3G0R
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posted: 24th Dec 2003 02:22
ok thanks, but I was also wondering how I would actually 'set it off' once i hit my bike into the enemy?

-------------------------
I'm new to DBPro. Don't hate me.
genius
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posted: 24th Dec 2003 03:48 Edited at: 24th Dec 2003 04:21
If you hit the alien, play object OBJECT NUMBER , StartFrame, EndFrame

startFrame would be 200
endFrame would be 250

once it is done playing:
if object playing(OBJECT NUMBER)=0 then delete object OBJECT NUMBER

example:


just put the alien guy and a grass image in the directory of this code and it will kill an alien and animate him when you hit him, then respawn another alien

Be happy, tomorrow is another day
GR3G0R
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posted: 24th Dec 2003 10:43
thank you genius. I'm using the Alien Mutant from the Xmas Present that they gave everyone. And it has a different .x file for every animation (e.g. H-Alien Mutant-Idle.x) and when I try doing it with this, I don't see the animations, either it didn't load, or it was too quick?

How do I fix this?

-------------------------
I'm new to DBPro. Don't hate me.
ReD_eYe
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Dec 2003 11:23
ahh, everyone thought you were using the alienware model you'll have to use "append object" in that case
so i'm guessing it would be something like:


If Object collision(BikeObjectNumber,AlienObjectNumber)
append object "H-Alien Mutant-Die.x",AlienObjectNumber,0
Endif


GO TO THE ETERNAL DESTINY FORUMS!!! http://forums.eternaldestinyonline.com
Do it now!!!
GR3G0R
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Nov 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posted: 24th Dec 2003 13:36
If Object collision(BikeObjectNumber,AlienObjectNumber)
append object "H-Alien Mutant-Die.x",AlienObjectNumber,0
Endif

so if the bikeobject number was 10 and alien object number was 20, it'd be:

If object collision(10,20)
append object "H-Alien Mutant-Die.x",20,0
endif

would that be right?

Thanks

-------------------------
I'm new to DBPro. Don't hate me.
genius
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: Utah, USA
Posted: 26th Dec 2003 06:34 Edited at: 26th Dec 2003 06:37
Or you could use my position collision code. How I do it is append the object at the beginning of the loading process:


Hope this helps!!

Be happy, tomorrow is another day

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-21 15:07:31
Your offset time is: 2024-09-21 15:07:31