Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / What commands do you want to see in AGK?-am currently putting together DLL in VS2019

Author
Message
DannyD
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 3rd May 2020 11:44
@Bored of the Rings

Please check PM

Thanks
AK
AGK Developer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2017
Location: NZ
Posted: 3rd May 2020 11:47 Edited at: 3rd May 2020 22:50
Edit: Ignore this! It's already done - as "shaders", I'm told.
------------------------------

2D sprite masking, in the sense of how programs like Flash or Animate define it where it's like looking through a window onto a sprite; the parts of the sprite that don't overlap with the "window" are invisible.

An image to clarify the concept, with mask sprite "A" hiding behind the backdrop "Bg" in the third panel so as to appear invisible:


Ideally SetSpriteShape could be applied to a masked sprite as you might expect - with invisible parts of the sprite being excluded from its hitbox.

My apologies if this is already in AppGameKit and I didn't notice it! I see someone asked about it in a thread a few years ago, but they were given a workaround that only applies to their particular example, and would not work in the case of multiple masked sprites moving independently of the background (and each other).
Qugurun
Valued Member
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2014
Playing: AppGameKit
Posted: 3rd May 2020 14:24 Edited at: 3rd May 2020 14:27
I am sure that what you are talking about is done by shaders like this.



main.agc


shader.ps


UPD: Although not quite the same, you need to use full-screen shaders.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
TamBam
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Nov 2011
Location: India
Posted: 3rd May 2020 21:04
Firebase Realtime database generate a random keys when we sent any value . how to solve it ?

and any function which give ip address from domain name
AK
AGK Developer
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2017
Location: NZ
Posted: 3rd May 2020 22:48
Thanks, Qugurun. I just assumed these "shaders" everyone was talking about was a 3D lighting effect and never looked into it, as I haven't tried out 3D yet. Boy is my face red!
Santman
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 5th May 2020 13:14
Pixel perfect sprite collision isnt too hard to do with a shader, depending on the type of collision. Do you mean for bullets etc, or for walking on the ground?
Santman
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 5th May 2020 13:16
I'm moderately familiar with VS....I'd be interested in how you create a custom DLL that links in with AppGameKit personally. Perhaps when you are done you could post a guide or template?
Qugurun
Valued Member
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2014
Playing: AppGameKit
Posted: 5th May 2020 14:47
Santman
Santman
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 5th May 2020 18:48
Wow......I never knew rhthat was there.

T2 in general has quite lacking tutorials, but I'm stunned I missed that one. Thank you.
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 5th May 2020 22:58
Santman
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 9th May 2020 20:58 Edited at: 10th May 2020 12:57
How do you pass an array into a plugin function? Or are they accessable be defauly as they are global? Do you also have to pass in global variables?

EDIT: so I've converted some of my slower functions to a C++ plug in, but I'm having issues where it seems to sporadically corrupt memblocks. Has anyone else found this?
Bored of the Rings
User Banned
Posted: 12th May 2020 11:04 Edited at: 12th May 2020 11:05
I have had some random issues with memblocks in VS2019/VS2017/VS2015 from time to time, until I turned off my virus checker app and tweaked some debugger options. Otherwise, returning pointer address of a memblock as well as dword, byte, word and strings work fine in tier2 and tier1 (as a 3rd party plugin).

Professional Programmer, languages: SAS, C++, SQL, PL-SQL, DBPro, Purebasic, JavaScript, others
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 17th May 2020 01:27 Edited at: 17th May 2020 01:29
would like to see some real time sound changing like pitch tone and speed for starters
or perhaps some dll that would allow something like this https://jfxr.frozenfractal.com/?fbclid=IwAR2nizPMG13XHiG3tOlGG26wa2riC30-6MIDPOlQiozPa_mtlm3kf2wr3J8#
ive seen midi work done with agk before so perhaps this would be the next step


I know it is possible with memblocks to change the hz etc but not really good for real time

fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
Santman
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 17th May 2020 13:40
Bored of the rings, memblocks work fine through a plug in without the pointer - you just pass in the number and the plugin works - I assume Paul fixed this at some time. My issue was....well, my issue. I wasn;t making the memblock number a constant, so it was changing it each iteration of code.
Bored of the Rings
User Banned
Posted: 18th May 2020 11:03
yes works fine without pointers, in DBPro memblock pointers (and ptrs for banks and alloc memory) worked a lot faster than AGK. I wanted to get pointers working mainly in Tier 2 c+ which is a lot faster than Tier 1 , which is why I added it. So, for Tier 1 I would probably just use the memblock id and standard commands and for Tier2, use the pointers. At the moment these commands are for my purpose only at the moment. I have a few projects on the go where I need faster processing, like OBJ format reading in etc... all very easy to do.
Professional Programmer, languages: SAS, C++, SQL, PL-SQL, DBPro, Purebasic, JavaScript, others
DannyD
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 22nd Jun 2020 13:54
Any ETA? for a beta or demo?

Thanks
Bored of the Rings
User Banned
Posted: 23rd Jun 2020 09:26 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2020 19:31
no ETA or deadline that I'm working to, I have a lot of other programming and personal commitments, so not rushing. I believe Madbit is doing a plugin for windows controls (Nuklear), which is pretty good and based on IMGUI. so that is one thing off my list.
Professional Programmer, languages: SAS, C++, SQL, PL-SQL, DBPro, Purebasic, JavaScript, others
Santman
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2011
Location: Inverness
Posted: 24th Jun 2020 18:41
I've got my head around plugins now.....I'm happy to help out if you wanna.split the work load?
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2020 05:06
Set sprite group collision

Hit=setspritegroupcollisin(1)
patrick.r
AGK Developer
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2018
Location:
Posted: 27th Jun 2020 22:09
setautomaticobjectcollisionon (1.1) or (1.0). Any collisions of 3d objects would be detected without the use of raycast! This command exists in Dbpro. Excuse my bad English
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 28th Jun 2020 07:15 Edited at: 28th Jun 2020 07:17
just for 2d sprites. If two or more or the same sprite collide, a action will happen. Think in terms of a match three game. There's no way to say, all 4 sprites are together. I can delete whole groups at the same time but not if there touching.
GOTO HelloWorld!
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Oct 2013
Location: Skyrim,...and lost in it!
Posted: 4th Jul 2020 01:41
Guys!

AGK right now needs a way to load a 3d object with a texture and animation! Most people who have in interrest in 3d are banging their head just to be able to load a 3dObject with animation and texture! How can someone do a 3d Game if loading a 3dObject with animation and texture is requiring a Phd? DArk Basic Classic was able to do that with a single command! (banging my head on my desk multiple times...)

I am really trying to keep my stick on the ice here, hearing you talking about memeryblock access and so forth. Most indie programmers never go in those territories... you do have to be fairly advance to go there. I used to do Dark Basic Games in 3d in Dark basic classic and now, even after 3 weeks of research, i still can't load an object with animation that retain its texture in AppGameKit (And i am not alone!!!)

AGK claim to be able to load .blend .obj .pbx .my sister, yet, when i load any of those, i get mixed result. this is unacceptable of any engine and make people go to Unity / Godot instead.

Ok, hope this get into one of the priority feature soon. We can't aford to lose 3 weeks trying to load an object in AGK.

Loktofeit
AGK Developer
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posted: 7th Jul 2020 22:11
"AGK claim to be able to load .blend .obj .pbx .my sister, yet, when i load any of those, i get mixed result."

Same here.
basicFanatic
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2017
Location:
Posted: 24th Jul 2020 14:01
How about Xbox controller support? I'm currently toying with a twin-stick shooter, and it annoys me that I'm locked to keyboard only.
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 24th Jul 2020 23:41
Quote: "How about Xbox controller support? I'm currently toying with a twin-stick shooter, and it annoys me that I'm locked to keyboard only."

It already supports gamepad controllers
basicFanatic
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2017
Location:
Posted: 25th Jul 2020 02:12
Wow, how did I miss that? Looks like it got every input. Thanks for the heads up.

Still, force feedback is missing! Would be fun to have, I think.
gerdich
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2018
Location:
Posted: 29th Jul 2020 12:19
I would like to have the possiblity to write plugins also for iOS and Android.

I would like to have AppGameKit as library for Windows, OSX, iOS and Android.

I would like to run AppGameKit in my Apps (AppGameKit writes to the Graphics context of the components of my apps) in Windows, OSX, iOS and Android.
Bored of the Rings
User Banned
Posted: 31st Jul 2020 09:16
as my work contract comes near to an end, I will be able to excel with this more in the coming weeks. I will review all posts again and try to prioritise requests.
Professional Programmer, languages: SAS, C++, SQL, PL-SQL, DBPro, Purebasic, JavaScript, others
Golelorn
7
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2016
Location:
Posted: 1st Aug 2020 21:18
CreateObjectWithChildrenFromMemblock
CreateMeshWithChildrenFromMemblock

Need to be able to load a new mesh to an animated object with bone info.
Tumira
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Oct 2015
Location:
Posted: 21st Sep 2020 00:51
Maths
-Lerp
-Clamp
-Interpolate
-Vector Normalize
-Rotate Towards
-LookAt

2D Sprite
FixSpriteToSprite (Make sprite a children of another sprite) (Follow world position and rotation of parent)

UI
-GUI Library (Checkbox , radio button, dialog box, etc)

-AStarPathfinding
-Navmesh pathfinding

-Steering behavior (Flock behavior) avoidance, etc2
Lupo4mica37
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 22nd Sep 2020 00:23
A command that I would love to see in AppGameKit is:

integer GetSpriteShapeHitTest ( iSpriteIndex, iShapeIndex, x, y )

Such a command would allow to create interactive menus using a single sprite for a menu column and individual sprite shapes for the rows. At the moment you would have to create individual sprites for each row in a column in the case you would want to use the GetSpriteHitTest command.
????????
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 3rd Mar 2021 08:11
unlocked
fubarpk
Retired Moderator
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Playing: AGK is my friend
Posted: 3rd Mar 2021 08:21
Thanks blink
what ide like to see is a basic inventory system
which allows pop push delete of an item
then find first and last of int, string etc returning the id
all can be done by pointers it could real speed up certain
doing these calculations even just for next loops are bottle necks in agk
perhaps even a swapinventory item from inva to invb and any searches that can
be done the standard tree search algorthym be fine search by group return the invc of them

fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
n00bstar
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada.
Posted: 3rd Mar 2021 19:26
I would looooooove:

1) The ability to draw pixels to the backbuffer, and get pixel-level information from what's on-screen. DrawPixel(X,Y,ARBG) and GetPixelColor(X,Y)
2) A (much) faster set of sprite commands, namely SetSpriteAnimation and DrawSprite.
3) Support for Midi files of course, but some old formats like mod/xm/s3m would be fun too
4) A print command with coordinates for when you need to write text to a specific place on the screen, but where creating a text object would be add unnecessary code for no real reason.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
We all got a chicken duck woman thing waiting for us
Bored of the Rings
User Banned
Posted: 30th Mar 2022 13:48
ok this dll almost done as well as a DBPro FTP dll I'm updating which I would like to include into AppGameKit, I don't recall AppGameKit having FTP commands. anyway, testing ongoing and then release
Professional Programmer, languages: SAS, C++, SQL, PL-SQL, DBPro, Purebasic, JavaScript, others
Zaxxan
AGK Developer
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2020
Location: England
Posted: 31st Mar 2022 17:24
Sounds very interesting! Do you have a list of additional functions that the finished DLL will include?
Bored of the Rings
User Banned
Posted: 31st Mar 2022 20:53
yes, I'll publish them soon, around 600 commands so far plus the ftp ones to come.
Professional Programmer, languages: SAS, C++, SQL, PL-SQL, DBPro, Purebasic, JavaScript, others
Phaelax
DBPro Master
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 1st Apr 2022 03:21
Quote: "Pixel perfect sprite collision isnt too hard to do with a shader"


Or even without shaders
https://forum.thegamecreators.com/thread/219444
Tiled TMX Importer V.2
XML Parser V.2
Base64 Encoder/Decoder
Purple Token - Free online hi-score database
Legend of Zelda

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds

Unseen Ghost
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Sep 2002
Location: Ohio
Posted: 11th Apr 2022 18:09
SetButtonTextSize()
SetButtonTextColor()
Gigabyte Board/ AMD 3.3 Ghtz Quad core/8GB Ram/Nvidia Geforce 1080 GTX 8GB/1TB Western Dig. SSD/Windows 10 Home/Dark Basic Pro 9Ex/AGK2/AGKStudio

No one cares how much you know until they know how much you care.
Arch-Ok
AGK Developer
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jul 2019
Location: Bursa/TÜRKIYE
Posted: 11th Apr 2022 20:28
something like that would be so usefull, I hadn't find oppurtunity to switch Tier 2 yet, as we discussed before. Direct access without any controls and all blame is on to the users of this command if any error occurs.

MemBuffer = GetMemblockBuffer(MemblockID)
extern "C" DLL_EXPORT unsigned char* GetMemblockBuffer(UINT i)
{
unsigned char* buf = agk::GetMemblockPtr(i);
return buf;
}

WriteBuffer(MemBuffer, Offset, int)
extern "C" DLL_EXPORT void WriteBuffer(int& b, int o, int d)
{
*(b + o) = d;
}


UWriteBuffer(MemBuffer, Offset, int)
extern "C" DLL_EXPORT void UWriteBuffer(UINT& b, int o, UINT d)
{
*(b + o) = d;
}

FWriteBuffer(MemBuffer, Offset, float)
extern "C" DLL_EXPORT void FWriteBuffer(float& b, int o, float d)
{
*(b + o) = f;
}



ReadBuffer(MemBuffer, Offset)
extern "C" DLL_EXPORT int ReadBuffer(int& b, int o)
{
int r = *(b + o);
return r;
}


UReadBuffer(MemBuffer, Offset)
extern "C" DLL_EXPORT UINT ReadBuffer(UINT& b, int o)
{
UINT r = *(b + o);
return r;
}



FReadBuffer(MemBuffer, Offset)
extern "C" DLL_EXPORT float ReadBuffer(float& b, int o)
{
UINT r = *(b + o);
return r;
}


P.S. c++ codes might not be correct.
janbo
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Nov 2008
Location: Germany
Posted: 13th Apr 2022 16:02
I would love to use OpenCV in AppGameKit
And something that enables Multithreading in someway.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-03-29 13:31:37
Your offset time is: 2024-03-29 13:31:37