Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / [LOCKED] Getting disappointed...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm slowly getting dissapointed by AGK. Most of the time I'm not building, but mainly debugging, finding workarounds, struggling with stuff not working (broadcast), trying to wrap my head around certain 'logic', etc. It seems to get worse. It could be just me, but I've been a developer all my life and I have a sense of things going wrong slowly... I hope I'm wrong...
Dutch
marvin944
Years of Service
User Offline
It might also be just a midlife / existential crisis...
Dutch
marvin944
Years of Service
User Offline
Well, the only thing I could do is to put the blame on myself, embrace the wonders of weird syntax and behavior and accept the challenge... I just hope the AppGameKit team keeps the focus on keeping the syntax clear and the bugs away...
Dutch
JRNTexas
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Sep 2020 23:54
I too have been a developer most of my life. I started in 1978.
I've been developing on one or another Game Creators platform since the early days of Dark Basic.
I have, at times, felt the same discouragement that you are going through.
However, I've found that it depends on what I'm trying to accomplish technically and where I'm at in my journey and with the particular application I'm working on. I've also found similar levels of frustration with other, completely different platforms, like C++, Adobe Flash, etc. Once the issue is either resolved or worked around and the issue is in the distant past, I find that the frustration and disappointment subsides and my view changes.