Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / How to preview html5 through F5 ?

Author
Message
T4r4ntul4
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2010
Location: close to my pc
Posted: 3rd Nov 2020 13:58
Hi all,

I want to make a HTML5 app, not windows or android:

In AppGameKit studio, is there a way to preview the HTML5 if you press F5 ?
Or if that isnt possible, use F7 to auto compile to HTML5 files? (so that i can refresh the html page myself.)

Is any of the above possible?

Any help and/or solution is very appreciated.
Loktofeit
AGK Developer
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Jan 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posted: 3rd Nov 2020 18:23
AGK currently doesn't offer a way to test the HTML5 locally.

My process for the projects I did for the web was to develop, debug, and test natively. Once all was set, I exported to HTML5, uploaded to my site, and did any last-minute testing there. I don't write anything that complex, but so far I haven't experienced any problems doing it that way.
T4r4ntul4
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2010
Location: close to my pc
Posted: 3rd Nov 2020 18:30
Hi, thank you for your reply.

The reason i ask this because last time i made something for the web, i used preview for windows, it ran smoothly there. But when i exported to web (aftyer many dev hours), it ran very sluggish. if i had known that it didnt work at all on the web export i would have never used so many hours on the project.
DannyD
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 4th Nov 2020 01:50
Most of my edugames run html 5, to make it more avaialble for android/window/iOS users (bypassing all the issues for publish on various stores, and it's custom for the company.
My games is not very complex, but I havnt come across any issues, and done more than 300 edu App's the past 4 years using AppGameKit classic and Studio.
I agree, HTML5 is very slow sometimes, if you have a bunch of graphics... but worth the effort to try.
Like Loktofeit said. try not to use to complicated code, then it won't be a problem.

The only thing I would LOVE in AppGameKit, is Midi support and more GUI functions

Try not to use Plugins (Which might not work) and use native code as far as possible.

I use xampps as a local testing server, and then upload to main server when done.

Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 7th Nov 2020 20:50 Edited at: 7th Nov 2020 20:54
I use XAMPP to run a virtual server locally for testing HTML5 builds.

That allows me to run PHP scripts locally so I can do server sided scripts for the HTML5 builds too.

Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
blink0k
Moderator
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
DannyD
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2017
Location:
Posted: 8th Nov 2020 12:34
Hey Blink0K

Yeah, you right? Will add it to the Project Manager

Thanks
Cherio
T4r4ntul4
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2010
Location: close to my pc
Posted: 9th Nov 2020 22:19
Yes, i use xampp too, cant without it. But thats not my goal here. I want directly see the project in html5 with F5. Now it just starts an windows exe of the project.
Derek Darkly
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Sep 2011
Location: Whats Our Vector, Victor?
Posted: 21st Nov 2020 22:18

What about using openbrowser() in your code?

That will save you a couple of steps at least.

Send your parents to noisy sprite demo hell... enter the D-Zone

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-09-19 20:52:47
Your offset time is: 2021-09-19 20:52:47