Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / Creating a renderImage froma loaded image retaining transparency.

Author
Message
Fokr
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2020
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2021 16:47 Edited at: 11th Feb 2021 16:50
I'm trying to create a render image with transparence and then render further images and/or text to that image for use later. After trying a number of approaches I ca't get this working. I'm guessing I'm doing something wrong. Any ideas.

I need to:

1. Load a specified image from disk (with tranparency).
2. Create a render image from the image dimensions above (with transparency).
3. Draw the initial image to the render image.
4. Then I will draw further images to this render image retaining transparency.

Here is some latest experimental code. It's tier 2 but I guess similar calls in tier 1. Everything works as intended but there is no transparency around the initial image (just black). Any ideas? Thanks.

blink0k
Moderator
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 11th Feb 2021 19:57
Fokr
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2020
Location:
Posted: 17th Feb 2021 15:38
I added the agk::SetSpriteTransparency( iSpriteRef, 1 ); after the final CreateSprite call and it appeared to be ok (on the PC at least).

However, when I built and ran on iOS the transparent area was corrupt with random pixels.

Is this a problem with the order I am doing things or is it a bug on iOS?

Thanks
Raven
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Mar 2005
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posted: 17th Feb 2021 17:26
Is the Alpha Channel output white noise? Or is there a pattern to it?
Fokr
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2020
Location:
Posted: 18th Feb 2021 13:31
Quote: "Is the Alpha Channel output white noise? Or is there a pattern to it?"


There seems to be some kind of pattern. As I said it's fine on the PC. This is a screenshot from the iPad. I basicaly put a loop around the above code (including the SetSpriteTransparency call).

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2021-07-31 10:47:05
Your offset time is: 2021-07-31 10:47:05