Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / "Hello game Creators" 18 years of animation experience does NOT prepare you for coding.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi, My name is Byron, BaoRyn in online games. I'm an animator and 3d modeler with most of my experience in rapid prototyping and aerospace engineering.

So long story short, Picked up the APG bundle pack and the hands on books last week. Thought this looks great to learn coding, Proceeded to watch the tutorial videos and go over as many of the forum posts that I can find and still think I'm missing something major, aside for many years experience in coding. Or maybe I'm just getting to old to see the obvious. All the tutorials I'm finding are in single scene one shot games, no levels.
I have 7 scenes with different sprites/ same sprites and I cant find anything that allows me to press a button on the first scene to go to any of the other 6 then while on them hit a go back button to start the first again. I tried using the virtual button to do this but if I have a virtual button on scene 2 then I get an error. I
know and have read that they are finicky but seriously......... I was hoping someone could help with a tutorial or code for a simple go to scene 2,3,4,5,6 buttons with a return to scene 1 button on each of those pages/scenes. Or something on Changing/ implementing new levels. Any help would be awesome, thanks in advance.
PartTimeCoder
AGK Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 4th Mar 2021 16:18
Implementing scene switching highly depends on your project structure but its really as simple as grouping the sprites for scene 1 in an array_scene_1 and delete/hide the sprites in that array when you want to close the scene.