Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Quiz game like Duolingo

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Apr 2021 03:33
Hey everyone,

I am new to AppGameKit and I have some ideas for quiz gaming.
I am an English teacher in Japan and I would like to create a game similar to a part of duolingo.
I attached the part I would like to try and recreate.
I was thinking of having a tsv or csv file that contained the individual questions separated as English, Japanese, picture file location, sound file location but I started to have doubts if that would work.
My idea was to create a type (question) per line that was separated into 4 categories with the above information.
The English string would then be separated into an array via spaces and shuffled. What I am wondering is how to display this on the screen like Duolingo does.
Would it be better to create buttons that have the text from the array displayed or is there a better method to do this?

Any help or ideas for coding this would be appreciated.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Virtual Nomad
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 30th Apr 2021 04:17 Edited at: 30th Apr 2021 04:19
Quote: "Would it be better to create buttons that have the text from the array displayed or is there a better method to do this?"

i can't think of a better way.

either AppGameKit (virtual) buttons or Text objects could help, along with an Edit Box should solve both input methods.

and, i think the way you want to break the solution up would work fine using " " as a delimeter for parsing and breaking the sentence up for individual words/buttons.
[My Itch.io Home] [Now Playing]
[AGK Resource Directory] [TGC @ GitHub]
[CODE lang=agk] YOUR CODE HERE [/CODE]