Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / PROBLEM WITH CODE

Author
Message
Cyberflame
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2003
Location: Im not sure....
Posted: 30th Dec 2003 05:37 Edited at: 30th Dec 2003 05:55

Whenever I try to run this it says:
#100025: Declaration name" is not valid at line 34
Whats happening, what am I doing wrong, and how can I fix it.

I don't know why this fixed it but I removed some spaces from the code. Also Now that ive fixed it it decides that it "cant close nest at line 40:
Heres the new code:


VISIT MY GAME DEV SITE: http://www.neoeden.web1000.com/
VISIT MY APPAREL SITE : http://Cafeshops.com/gerritgear
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 30th Dec 2003 05:56
_load_objects:
`make boxes
for boxmake=1 to 10
make object box boxmake,2,1,1
loading$="box"
type boxmake as string
endtype

next boxmake

Problem in your load objects. You have to ENDTYPE

RPGamer


Dont forget to Join the Forums!
Cyberflame
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2003
Location: Im not sure....
Posted: 30th Dec 2003 06:02 Edited at: 30th Dec 2003 06:06
Thanks RPgamer... that fixed that problem.
Lol, this is my first code without a tut. Now I get a "label does not exist at line 9".


VISIT MY GAME DEV SITE: http://www.neoeden.web1000.com/
VISIT MY APPAREL SITE : http://Cafeshops.com/gerritgear
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 30th Dec 2003 06:38
Why are you making a type?



Without using types, your not using them right

RPGamer


Dont forget to Join the Forums!
Cyberflame
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2003
Location: Im not sure....
Posted: 30th Dec 2003 06:59
Thanks. It runs now. What exactly does type do?

VISIT MY GAME DEV SITE: http://www.neoeden.web1000.com/
VISIT MY APPAREL SITE : http://Cafeshops.com/gerritgear
the_winch
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posted: 30th Dec 2003 07:04
type atype_t
i as integer
s as string
endtype

atype as atype_t

atype.i = 50
atype.s = "abc"

dbpro : 2ghz p4m : 512mb : geforce 4 4200 go
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 30th Dec 2003 07:33
or....



Good for RPGs, so you can store all the character stats in one neat little area

RPGamer


Dont forget to Join the Forums!
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 30th Dec 2003 07:34
Winch just didnt DIM his array


Dont forget to Join the Forums!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-21 13:38:14
Your offset time is: 2024-09-21 13:38:14