Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 22nd Jun 2021 18:39 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2021 00:53
Hello all together,
i have coded a little piano game with falling tiles. The user has to press a piano key at the right time. I know it is very easy to code but i have found out everything by my self.
I am not a professionall, that´s why i want to ask what i can make better in my code. I would be happy if someone helps.

The main code is the following:

I load a different function for each song:

In this function i set the tempo and position the sprites:

Then i create the arrays which have different values. Every number is for a key, for example a "c" has the value one, a "d" has the value two, it looks like:

With this method i can work fine, but i spend many sprites, because it could be, that the song only hase one "C" for example, but i load a lot of sprites

After that comes the importatnt thing:

In the end, if the tile is in collision with a line, and the user presses the key, i play the sound.

Is this a good method to handle this?

/code tags added by mod
Virtual Nomad
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jun 2021 04:01 Edited at: 23rd Jun 2021 05:02
i'm struggling to follow what you're doing but it seems you're concerned with the # of sprites that you're creating.

Quote: "i have coded a little piano game with falling tiles."

short version for this: only create sprites that are (about to become) visible and remove them when they're not.

i've never written a rhythm game but here's my take on functionality & handling the sprites/falling tiles:

i'm "creating" a "song" which consists of 20 rows of strings 8 characters long. Ie, MakeSong(20).