Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I'm new to Darkbasic Pro, and i have a few questions...

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 31st Dec 2003 23:14
I'm actually new to darkbasic alltogether. I have a great deal of experience with QBasic, not to mention some experience with C++, Visual Basic, Visual C++, and some asm. But I must say, Darkbasic is incredible! 3 thumbs up to Darkbasic! For now on I will chiefly program in Darkbasic Pro.

I have a few questions though, which I've stumbled across after my first day of fiddling. When I run a working source file in debug mode, the variable watcher displays all variables as "NO DATA", even though they are printed on-screen as variables that do indeed contain data. Why is this? And if i attempt to run a working source file in step-through mode, it won't run at all! It gives me an error on line one every time, saying it doesnt understand the command. Any help on this would be appreciated. Also, on more than one occasion I have made changes to a source file, and then compiled and run the program, only to find that my changes havn't been implimented. After quitting and restarting darkbasic pro, recompiling and re-running my source file, the changes have finally occured in the program. Why is this? It is a sporadic problem though. It doesn't happen like this everytime. Thank you in advance for any help on these subjects.

In terms of commands ive had troubles with, the MAKE SNOW PARTICLES, SCROLL OBJECT TEXTURE, and POSITION OBJECT commands are baffling me. I'm having trouble using these commands. Maybe someone can help explain the exact parameters to me using working examples? Thanx a mill.

...the prophecy is true afterall... Vortex2000 has returned~