Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / AppGameKit VR - teleportation arc raycast ?

Author
User Offline
Hello!
I am very new to AppGameKit (and all the VR stuff).
Can anyone point me into the right direction?

I want to teleport my player in a 3D world to different destinations by using the thumb stick of my controller.
I would like to see a nice arc from controller to the destination point.
How can I do that?
Maybe you got a code snippet (Tier 1 or Tier 2) you would like to share?

How do I calculate the arc from controller to destination?
How can I make the arc visible (particles or what?)?
How can I calculate the destination coords?

nz0
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th May 2023 20:18
There's a lot of questions there.
First, the co-ords of the controller would be available from the VR API command set.
Next, the destination would be where you select - I mean, you are going to move the thumb stick around to position the target position, so you'll know where it is when you move the target around. Use a box or something temporarily.
Assume now then, that you have 2 XYZ co-ordinates. You need to make a curve effect to the destination (much like I think in Robo Recall?)
For the arc visual part, you could make a segmented poly object using quad polys, (or a pipe) where you could mathematically alter the vertex data based on a spline or bezier.
If you use 3D physics, I seem to remember some functions there which could allow for simulating rope/chain which you may be able to use.
Raven
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Aug 2023 18:45
Raycast from the Controller in the direction it's pointing... when it hits you use that as the "End Point"