Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Is there a fully documented grammar available?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm new to AGK. Reading through documentation for the DrawBox command, I discovered this line of code in one of the examples:

I was surprised to see the ":" character used as a statement delimiter as I didn't see it elsewhere in the documentation. I'm wondering what other language features I've missed. Is there a BNF (or even something less formal) for the AppGameKit language available somewhere? I know about the language section of the documentation, but it only covers keywords and not any other tokens or grammatical structures.
Virtual Nomad
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Sep 2023 01:56 Edited at: 15th Sep 2023 01:58
not sure what a BNF is but there are examples of : usage in places like THIS (see Sorting & Searching).

unfortunately the docs don't cover everything, and as i'm "self taught" and came from a (relatively short) DBPro background where the once-popular 20 line challenges couldn't have existed without : usage, i've known about it for some time but can appreciate your desire for formal, exhaustive documentation.

related, perhaps, is that AppGameKit doesn't provide line wrap or concatenation which, IIRC, DBPro did.

anyway, hope that helps. and, welcome
Kevin Picone
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th Sep 2023 04:40

For those familiar with BASIC colons are common place; for others yeah not so much..

PlayBASIC To HTML5/WEB - Convert PlayBASIC To Machine Code
Bogle
Years of Service
User Offline