Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / [LOCKED] Installing AGK - SteamCMD

Author
Message
KaiProton
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 21st Nov 2023 09:24
Hello All,

Like a lot of people (I assume) Ive got AppGameKit though Steam,

I want to install it on my work PC, but was thinking Can be it done without the steam storefront.

Ive run Valheim and Space Engineers servers using SteamCMD,

has anyone tried to install it this way?
is it even possible?
Zaxxan
AGK Developer
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2020
Location: England
Posted: 21st Nov 2023 10:15
Can't you install it on your PC at home and then copy the installation folder on to a usb stick and then transfer onto your works PC?
KaiProton
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 21st Nov 2023 14:50
I will give that a try,
As its an installer, I wasnt thinking about it like that,

Zaxxan
AGK Developer
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2020
Location: England
Posted: 21st Nov 2023 15:11 Edited at: 21st Nov 2023 15:16
I don't think it uses the registry other than when it's installing/uninstalling. I have installed the TGC version on my PC and then copied the folder to a different location and then uninstalled. The copy I made still works, I assume that this would also work with the steam version.
KaiProton
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Aug 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 11:47
I plopped into OneDrive last night,

just bringing it off there onto my work PC now,

Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 15:41
Sorry to be a bugbear with this as I don't particularly agree with this,

Just make sure you only have 1 copy where ever you need it. I'm pretty sure it will be against some terms and conditions moving / copying of a product to another location.

Just be weary on what you doing here.
Zaxxan
AGK Developer
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2020
Location: England
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 17:45 Edited at: 22nd Nov 2023 17:53
I have about seven licenses bought from TGC, Steam and Fanatical bundles so never really gave it a thought. Perhaps VN could confirm if this is ok. I would have thought that as long as it's only used on one PC at a time it may might be ok.

In T&C's on Steam

(b) transfer the Software from one computer to another provided it is used on only one computer at any one time;
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 17:54
I'm sure you will be ok, just note 1 copy per licence.

You in particular have 7, so make sure it's 7 located somewhere, removed from original installation locations if moved.

I'm sure Tgc can clarify if allowed to be moved.

We need to do what's right
Zaxxan
AGK Developer
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2020
Location: England
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 17:58 Edited at: 22nd Nov 2023 17:59
I only use on 3 PC's, the other licenses are spare ones.
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 18:01
Your good, it's more @KaiProton

I'm sure virtual nomad will be on this if feel there is any real concerns
Zaxxan
AGK Developer
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2020
Location: England
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 18:01 Edited at: 22nd Nov 2023 22:32
*deleted*
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 18:09
1.2.c
Zaxxan
AGK Developer
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Nov 2020
Location: England
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 18:15 Edited at: 22nd Nov 2023 18:16
They aren't doing that. Like you have mentioned if it's not allowed someone from TGC or a moderator will confirm.
Aidan
User Banned
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 18:16 Edited at: 22nd Nov 2023 19:18
Ill pretend I didn't see this thread
...

i wish you hadn't ~VN
Virtual Nomad
Moderator
18
Years of Service
Recently Online
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 22nd Nov 2023 18:53
if you can use AppGameKit on more than one computer at any one time (competently), i'd like to see vid proof and a certified scan of your brain(s).

@kai, let's lock this as it's gone astray.

no one in this thread represents TGC. you 've seen the license and been around the forums and software for some time. if there are any questions with it, contact TGC.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-27 20:27:48
Your offset time is: 2024-02-27 20:27:48