Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Questions regarding development tools

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
First off, thanks in advance for any info you guys can give me. I'm new to DBP but (probably thanks to a couple years of experience with SQL and various reporting software) I've been absorbing much of the code portion pretty easily. That said, I've got TONS to learn and I need a few more development tools =P

I think I've settled on using MilkShape and CharacterFX to create animated models. In this area I have two questions. First, is Milkshape (I have v1.6.4) royalty-free after purchasing it? I look long and hard at the legal-eze for these tools because I intend to create a commercial product with them, but if there was anything important in there during installation I missed it. Second, does anyone have suggestions for royalty-free shaders and texturing tools that work well with either MilkShape or CharacterFX?

I'm also gonna need to create my 3D world from scratch. I tried the FAQ suggestion of MatEdit but haven't had much luck with it so far, plus the lack of a windowed mode is frustrating while trouble-shooting. If at all possible, I want to get as close to a single 3d map as possible (meaning no "level-load" phase) for the whole game. Any thoughts on tools I could use to create that, or at least a good start?

Again, thanks in advance =)

A Cloaking Robe of Elven-Kind hangs in my wardrobe behind
All those things that mother said were proper for a boy
waffle
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 8th Jan 2004 20:17
MS3D is great
Also look into Lith-Unwrap for detail work on models.

you'll also need some sound effects and music...
6000 sound effects CD $9.00 at office depot (royalty free)