Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I'm an idiot, I realize, but this is my second day trying it...

Author
Message
Lord Ozzum
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2003
Location: Beyond the Realms of Death
Posted: 11th Jan 2004 03:13 Edited at: 11th Jan 2004 22:08
Since I'm sure no one has ever asked this before: how do change the text size and font (demo version)? Please don't laugh to hard...

The last one who challenged my decree and the power of the "Last Word" was never found...well, his skull wasn't...
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 11th Jan 2004 03:23 Edited at: 11th Jan 2004 03:30
the commands

set text size num
and
set text font "fontname"





TEXT : TEXT X,Y,String
CENTER TEXT : CENTER TEXT X,Y,String
SET TEXT FONT : SET TEXT FONT Fontname
SET TEXT SIZE : SET TEXT SIZE Point size
SET TEXT OPAQUE : SET TEXT OPAQUE
SET TEXT TRANSPARENT : SET TEXT TRANSPARENT
SET TEXT TO NORMAL : SET TEXT TO NORMAL
SET TEXT TO ITALIC : SET TEXT TO ITALIC
SET TEXT TO BOLD : SET TEXT TO BOLD
SET TEXT TO BOLDITALIC : SET TEXT TO BOLDITALIC
PERFORM CHECKLIST FOR FONTS : PERFORM CHECKLIST FOR FONTS
TEXT BACKGROUND TYPE : Return Integer=TEXT BACKGROUND TYPE()
TEXT FONT$ : Return String=TEXT FONT$()
TEXT SIZE : Return Integer=TEXT SIZE()
TEXT STYLE : Return Integer=TEXT STYLE()
TEXT WIDTH : Return Integer=TEXT WIDTH(String)
TEXT HEIGHT : Return Integer=TEXT HEIGHT(String)
ASC : Return Integer=ASC(String)
BIN$ : Return String=BIN$(Value)
CHR$ : Return String=CHR$(Value)
HEX$ : Return String=HEX$(Value)
LEFT$ : Return String=LEFT$(String,Value)
LEN : Return Integer=LEN(String)
LOWER$ : Return String=LOWER$(String)
MID$ : Return String=MID$(String,Value)
RIGHT$ : Return String=RIGHT$(String,Value)
STR$ : Return String=STR$(Value)
UPPER$ : Return String=UPPER$(String)
VAL : Return Float=VAL(String)
SPACE$ : Return String=SPACE$(Number of Spaces)



are found the manual
Lord Ozzum
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2003
Location: Beyond the Realms of Death
Posted: 11th Jan 2004 20:50
I saw that in the manual thing but I still don't get wha to do...

The last one who challenged my decree and the power of the "Last Word" was never found...well, his skull wasn't...
Mentor
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 11th Jan 2004 21:08
try this code to see the size change

and try this code to change the font


one bit of code will show fonts at different sizes, the other will change the font, you must have the font with that name on your machine or the system will just display a default font, one it allready has built in just in case you ask for one that isn`t there, it will use that instead if you dont have one with the correct name.

Mentor.

System spec : Pentium 3.0Ghz, 512MB DDR, 2x160Gb HD (using icewave hd coolers ), DVD RW/CD RW (all modes), multimedia front panel, 6 way surround sound, ATI radeon 9800Pro 128mb.
Lord Ozzum
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2003
Location: Beyond the Realms of Death
Posted: 11th Jan 2004 22:04 Edited at: 11th Jan 2004 22:10
thanks, mentor and indi (except it said d3d9.dll wasn't found)!

The last one who challenged my decree and the power of the "Last Word" was never found...well, his skull wasn't...
the_winch
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posted: 11th Jan 2004 22:21
If you have dbpro with the latest patch you need directx 9.0b

dbpro : 2ghz p4m : 512mb : geforce 4 4200 go
Mentor
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Jan 2004 00:13
Db pro needs dx9.0, you can download it from Microsofts directx website or just select update windows and it will be offered among the downloads, if you do have Dx9.0 then you have a problem with the install and should try to install it again and see if that fixes things, cheers.

Mentor.

System spec : Pentium 3.0Ghz, 512MB DDR, 2x160Gb HD (using icewave hd coolers ), DVD RW/CD RW (all modes), multimedia front panel, 6 way surround sound, ATI radeon 9800Pro 128mb.
Lord Ozzum
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2003
Location: Beyond the Realms of Death
Posted: 12th Jan 2004 06:06
THANX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The last one who challenged my decree and the power of the "Last Word" was never found...well, his skull wasn't...
Lord Ozzum
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2003
Location: Beyond the Realms of Death
Posted: 12th Jan 2004 06:16
how do I center the text?

The last one who challenged my decree and the power of the "Last Word" was never found...well, his skull wasn't...
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 12th Jan 2004 09:33
the command screen width() can be divided by two to get the center of the screen.

text screen width()/2,10,"Center"
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 12th Jan 2004 14:47
That would start the text from the center of the screen. The way to get your text to print evenly in the center is to do this:

center text screen width()/2, 10, "Center"

For free Plug-ins, source and the DBPro Interface library for Visual C++ 6 and .NET
http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Lord Ozzum
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2003
Location: Beyond the Realms of Death
Posted: 12th Jan 2004 16:38
Thanx

The last one who challenged my decree and the power of the "Last Word" was never found...well, his skull wasn't...
Lord Ozzum
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2003
Location: Beyond the Realms of Death
Posted: 14th Jan 2004 04:35
does any genius/average genius/not-so-genius genius know any other commands that could help out this poor, poor idiot

The last one who challenged my decree and the power of the "Last Word" was never found...well, his skull wasn't...
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 14th Jan 2004 05:58
oops correct.
waffle
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2002
Location: Western USA
Posted: 14th Jan 2004 17:54
just try out every command in the book and see what it does....
I went to school to learn programming (far too many years ago) and that how I was taught. Generally, the exercises were designed to teach just a few commands at a time. Without a few simple exercises, its easy to become overwelmed. Just start small. Try copying other peoples work (not just cut and paste either) actually type it. Read it and add your own notes to it.

I'm still just becoming "unafraid" of the API.... getting used to crashing my PC at least 4 times a day and loosing my work at the time of the crash..... Usually just before I hit the save button.
Stupid save before run option not working right

internet gaming group
current project http://home.comcast.net/~norman.perry/Archon.html
Lord Ozzum
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Oct 2003
Location: Beyond the Realms of Death
Posted: 16th Jan 2004 02:08
thanks

Then comes tomorrow and you're a little shorter of your breath and one day closer to your friends

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-21 15:31:34
Your offset time is: 2024-09-21 15:31:34