Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Need a good 3d modeler, Which one is good ?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I have DBC and have been messin arund with a few 3d modelers. I tryed anim8tor but I don't really like the interface and I find it hard to animate. I have also tryed milkshape but it only supports halflife and quake that I know of. I am looking to create models such as ones like in dungeon siege or pool of radiance where their is an isometric view.

I wanted to know whats a good 3d modeler whether it's freeware, shareware, or full priced. Can you please suggest some because I am new to modeling and don't know the inn's and outs and what is better than others. Thanks

"The Infamous J Nice"
Doremar
Years of Service
User Offline
I didn't like anim8tor either, maybe it was just too steep a learning curve and I'm too excited to move into game design to spend that much time learning one tool.
As a beginner I've had a lot of success with MilkShape and CharacterFX (shareware). I'll create the primitives and do some shaping of the basic model and initial texturing in Milkshape, export it as a Milkshape 3d ASCII and then import it into CharacterFX to animate it.
Character FX seems to export to DBP flawlessly, but I can't vouch for DBC. I wouldn't think it would be that different.
I also haven't gotten into complex texturing yet. When I do get there it looks like Lithunwrap will work just fine with MilkShape.

A Cloaking Robe of Elven-Kind hangs in my wardrobe behind
All those things that mother said were proper for a boy
John H
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 13th Jan 2004 04:21