Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / vectors man... vectors

Author
Message
Slayer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2003
Location: CA
Posted: 13th Jan 2004 05:36
Can someone show me how to use vectors. Its one think Id like to
know in darkbasicpro. (Id like to know the vector comands in DBP)
anything will help.

Thanks.

I dont know how to spell
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 13th Jan 2004 14:36
They are fairly simple to use really ...



If you have a more specific question just ask

For free Plug-ins, source and the DBPro Interface library for Visual C++ 6 and .NET
http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Philip
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Jan 2004 14:58
This is a bit imprecise but I tend to see the Vector3 data item as being equivalent to the following DB Pro code:

TYPE Vect3

x as float
y as float
z as float

ENDTYPE

dim Vector3(100) as Vect3

So a = Y Vector3 would be the same as a = Vector3(x).y in the example above.

Philip

What do you mean, bears aren't supposed to wear hats and a tie? P1.3ghz / 384 megs / GeForce MX 5200 128meg / WinXP home
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 13th Jan 2004 15:07
That's it really. The built-in vectors just have the advantage of having all the commands already written for you

For free Plug-ins, source and the DBPro Interface library for Visual C++ 6 and .NET
http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Slayer
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2003
Location: CA
Posted: 14th Jan 2004 03:53 Edited at: 14th Jan 2004 04:13
Is there a way to like have to points in 3d space
and move a number or numbers to those points.
like a good collision systim.

they say things like a vectore is that line between
to points in 3d space.

What I wont to do is make some type of collision using them.

What I should say is in what way can I use them for a collision systom?

I dont know how to spell
CattleRustler
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2003
Location: case modding at overclock.net
Posted: 14th Jan 2004 04:29 Edited at: 14th Jan 2004 05:00
.

-RUST-

IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 14th Jan 2004 14:38
No, you can't use them to write a collision system really. Vectors are just used to hold positions (or offsets) or angles. They are just relatively easy to perform certain operations of.

For free Plug-ins, source and the DBPro Interface library for Visual C++ 6 and .NET
http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-21 15:50:17
Your offset time is: 2024-09-21 15:50:17