Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Basic Collisions

Author
Message
Ub3rS0ldAt Patriot of War
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: United States! Support the Soldiers!
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 02:39
Ok, I have a plane fly and the camera can follow it. Now I want to add a basic collision. What code do I have to add to make the plane explode if it crashes or collides?


.:Leader of BoX-Softare Gaming Company:.
Ub3rS0ldAt Patriot of War
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: United States! Support the Soldiers!
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 06:05
I need a reply

.: Owner of BoX-Softare Gaming Company :.
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 08:26
I don't quite know how the DB apps handle collision, but if you want the easiest to code, and most perfectest, bestest, superest (it is indeed this great) collisions, then go to NuclearGlory.com, give them $15 bucks, and dowload their dll. The commands allow you tell which objects you want to detect collision on, and what type of collision reaction you get out of it, then you can code the effects as needed. As soon as you detect plane hitting obstacle, then play animation. You can animate the explosion in a modeller, or have a bit of code that will shoot a bunch of fiery looking chunks of whatever into the air.

Juvenile Industries
Current Project: KillZone(FPS)
Soon to come:An rts, and a snowball fight game
Dave J
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Feb 2003
Location: Secret Military Pub, Down Under
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 08:37
Quote: " but if you want the easiest to code, and most perfectest, bestest, superest (it is indeed this great) collisions"


I'd like to challenge for that title


"Computers are useless they can only give you answers."
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 08:40
@Exeat Oh man! We gotta get NG in here, code wars! Is your collision stuff in the Program Announcements or Work In Progress boards? I'd like to try them out.

Juvenile Industries
Current Project: KillZone(FPS)
Soon to come:An rts, and a snowball fight game
Ub3rS0ldAt Patriot of War
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: United States! Support the Soldiers!
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 22:34
I guess I may have to spend some money to get some collisions working.

.: Owner of BoX-Softare Gaming Company :.
Neil19533
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Aug 2003
Location: England
Posted: 26th Jan 2004 04:03
simple command

if object collision(1st object num,2nd object num)
some explode code
endif
or if you would like to do it with sprites
if object sprite(1st sprite num,2nd sprite num)
some explode code
endif

I wonder where that fish did go, a fish, a fish, a fish, O
Ub3rS0ldAt Patriot of War
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: United States! Support the Soldiers!
Posted: 27th Jan 2004 04:13
hmmmmm, very helpfull. I'll try it out.

.: Owner of BoX-Softare Gaming Company :.
Chris K
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Oct 2003
Location: Lake Hylia
Posted: 27th Jan 2004 10:34
There's also a free version of NG's dll

Ub3rS0ldAt Patriot of War
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: United States! Support the Soldiers!
Posted: 28th Jan 2004 04:26
NG dll=Money loss. I don't have money right now. So I need a working basic collision between a plane and terrain or other objects.

.: Owner of BoX-Softare Gaming Company :.
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 28th Jan 2004 05:54
the matrix command set has a command called "get ground height",
this is an easy to detect if your plane has touched the matrix.

If your landscape is a x file then consult the "intersect object" command for basically the same thing.


Ub3rS0ldAt Patriot of War
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: United States! Support the Soldiers!
Posted: 28th Jan 2004 06:12
cool. thanks. it worked.

.: Owner of BoX-Softare Gaming Company :.
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 28th Jan 2004 07:20
no worries mate


Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-11-26 01:48:21
Your offset time is: 2024-11-26 01:48:21