Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Beginner's Guide to DarkBasic Game Programming

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I am just starting to learn DarkBasic. Is this book really good. I was thinking of buying it.
Phaelax
DBPro Master
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 22:27
My opinion, I hate all the books that publisher has done. Never complete explanations, assumes you know to much from the beginning. I haven't seen the DB book, but I've bought their AI and beginning DX programming books, and I didn't find either of them very helpful. If the book teaches basic programming structure and logic from the start, then I'd say go ahead and get it if this is your first language.

"eureka" - Archimedes
Renegade
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 22:46
Read the comments at Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1592000096/qid=1075063406/sr=2-1/ref=sr_2_1/102-1151863-7596950

I heard that this book is more introduction to game programming
then introduction to DarkBasic programming but I personly never
read it.
Doomwad
Years of Service
User Offline
i read it. it was okay... nothing to great. the only chapter I have used so far is the second to last one on 3d stuff. everything else truly is for BEGINNERS. it starts off at text stuff. ten chapters later into 2d stuff. 5 chapters later you finally get to 3d stuff (no game included). And then the book ends with a multiplayer chapter. okay... but not worth fifty bucks. also, mainly assumes you have darkBasic proffesional.
Scraggle
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Jan 2004 22:56
I bought it and found it fairly useful.
I disagree with doomwad though,
Quote: "mainly assumes you have darkBasic proffesional"