Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Need advice on Bitmaps & Menu's

Author
Message
Zooker
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 26th Nov 2002 02:17
I am trying to write an elaborate Menu, having 1 main menu Bar and 8 Drop down Menu's. Iam using the 800x600 Mode and am trying to make up my mind on whether to make 8 full screen bitmaps showing the main menu bar & 1 dropped down Menu or to make 1 fullscreen Menu with bar and 8 bitmaps of just the indiviual drop down Menu's. Each One I've made fullscreen or indiviual takes up the same amount of bytes. I don't have the faintest idea Why. Any help would be appreciated! ! !
It took Years to Make Me this Stupid!
Mirthin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Oct 2002
Location: Land of the Rising Haggis
Posted: 26th Nov 2002 18:31
A bitmap is an array of pixels. If the height, width, depth and compression ratio are common to two different bitmaps, it doesn't matter what it looks like, it will be the same. This goes also for video and audio.

Who wants cake? I've got a little slice of hell for everyone.
Zooker
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 27th Nov 2002 01:47
Mirthin
I gave the 1st bitmap x & y as 640 x 480 and the second bitmap x& y as 100 x 200 yet both were the same 1,146,210 bytes. Can't figure it out?

It took Years to Make Me this Stupid!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-02-24 22:12:53
Your offset time is: 2024-02-24 22:12:53