Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Dark Basic and Laser Ray Tracing

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 5th Feb 2004 18:20
Hi, I am new to the board and new to Dark Basic. I bought it to get my son (10 yrs) introduced to programming. He loves it and the tutorials are easy to follow.

I have some basic programming experience and am pretty good in math and physics but not an expert. Here is what I would like to know. I would like to write code such that I can build a table and have a laser on it. Then I would like to be able to drop a mirror on the table in the path of the laser beam and see where it reflects when I change the angle of the mirror. I would then like to be able to put a lens with known physical properties in the path and view how it would diffract the beam, that is, see how it causes the beam to diverge or converge.

Is this all possible with dark basic? Is there anyone out there that is doing a similar program that would not mind advising me?

Thank you in advance and have a good day!

John
BearCDPOLD
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Feb 2004 03:49
Hi JohnFP,
That's awesome that you're introducing your son to programming. I don't know of anybody who is doing that sort of thing (but heck, I don't know very many people so there's bound to be someone).

First I must ask, are you planning on doing this using 2d or 3d graphics? Just for kicks I'll write down concepts for both.

3D: