Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / "Beginners Guide to DarkBasic Programming" Recomended??

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Would anybody reccomend the "Beginners Guide to DarkBasic Programming" to someone who wants to create a game? (Particulary 2-d sidescroller shoot-emiup.) I don't know anything about the book, but it sounds good... Thanks!
Brian T
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 17th Feb 2004 20:22
Hi lukeman. The answer to your question really depends on how experienced of a programmer you are. I am very new to DB but I've been coding games for a long time (especially AI). I bought the book just because it was the only one out there. I got DBP in the mail two days before I got the book. In just two days of poking around the forum, tutorials, reading the help files, and experimenting, I had already outgrown the book- i.e. there was absolutely nothing in it that was not intuitively obvious. So if you are an experienced programmer and just new to DB then I suggest you don't get it. Also, be aware that although it claims to be for both DBC and DBP, none of the new features of DBP are covered. If you are new to programming or game programming in general then I think you would get quite a bit of help from it as it starts off very slow and works its way up to a very small and simple (but complete and functional) 3D networked car game. Forums are best to learn from after you learn the BASICs- no pun intended (well perhaps it was). Jonathan Harbour is a very good author. If you are looking to learn general good game programming techniques try reading one of his other books: Visual Basic Game Programming with DirectX. As the name implies, it is for Visual Basic 6.0 (which I like a lot) but if you