Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / Staying on a matrix

Author
Message
Alkaline
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 02:56
How do i get my objects to saty on my matrix when i walk to the end, they just fall off, my matix size is 2000 by 2000

~Adikt Studios~
CKy
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jan 2003
Location:
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 03:34
hey could u post ur code plz? how do u get ur character to walk on your matrix? mine move, but not along the actual floor of the matrix.


for the issue of your characters falling off the matrix, you could have:

make matrix 1, 3000, 3000, 64, 64
if object position x(1) =< 0 then object position x(1) = 0
if object position z(1) =< 0 then object position z(1) = 0
if object position x(1) => 64 then object position x(1) = 64
if object position z(1) => 64 then object position z(1) = 64

this is just example code btw lol. What you could do is, if the position (x or z) of the object is equal to the size of the matrix (64 in this case) then you can reposition the object to its currrent position, so that it stays put when it hits the boarder.
hexGEAR
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location: Naytonia
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 03:51


make matrix objnum,sizex,sizez,tilesx,tilesz

should be:

if object position x(1) >= 3000 then object position x(1) = 3000
if object position z(1) >= 3000 then object position z(1) = 3000



Alkaline
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 03:59
its saying unkoen command...anyother ways

~Adikt Studios~
comando 300
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:06
I thinks is like this

If x=>2000 then x=2000
if x=<0 then x=0
if z=>2000 then z=2000
if z=<0 then z=0

CURRENT PROJECT: RETRO PAC-MAN
hexGEAR
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location: Naytonia
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:12 Edited at: 18th Feb 2004 04:13
my bad, i was just correcting CKy's mistake, as for your question, you need to post your code 'cus although commando is correct you may not understand it...

Alkaline
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:13
ive tried that it dosnt work. heres my source code

~Adikt Studios~
comando 300
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:14
uh huh

a little of your code

CURRENT PROJECT: RETRO PAC-MAN
comando 300
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Nov 2003
Location:
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:16
I think it's

the same as mine but with posx# and posz# variables

CURRENT PROJECT: RETRO PAC-MAN
Alkaline
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:17
you mean xpos# and zpos#...well already tried that

~Adikt Studios~
hexGEAR
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Nov 2002
Location: Naytonia
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:20
ok, just before your update the objects position section you insert this code:



that should work...

John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:21


Have fun


We need help! Email us! join@eternaldestinyonline.com
Alkaline
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:22
thank you it does

~Zip-Shox Entertianment~
www.zip.dbspot.com
John H
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 04:24
NP


We need help! Email us! join@eternaldestinyonline.com

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-21 21:09:33
Your offset time is: 2024-09-21 21:09:33