Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / complecated collisions

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
i am new at DB and already have an ambicious project, i have .3ds fully taken apart car(doors, lights, bumpers...) and need the car fall apart, when it crashes into smth.,
if someone could help me, it'll be very gratefull...
Jess T
Retired Moderator
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Feb 2004 01:55
There are a couple of different ways you could do it, one would be to actually model the car falling apart as an animation, and when the car crash's, play that animation.

Another way to do it would be to have each section of the car as a seperate model, then load them all in, and make them all limbs of the main body, ie, load the chazy of the car, then load the left door, make it a limb of the chazy, then load the right door, make it a limb of the chazy, load in the bumper bars, make them limbs of the chazy, etc etc.
Then, when you have that set up, and the car crash's, just detatch the part that is to fall off, from the the chazy, and move it on it's own, so that it looks like it has fallen off.

ie, say the car crash's, and the right door is to fall off, then you would detach the limb that is the right door, then move that in the direction you want so that it looks like it's falling, and voila! Instant crash!

Hope I Helped...
Jess.

Team EOD :: Programmer/Logical Engineer/All-Round Nice Guy
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th Feb 2004 21:44
There is a simple method, I forget the name, where you basically have 2 models. You show and hide the limbs to produce a "damaged" effect, e.g hiding a good arm and showing a bloody arm.

BatVink (formerly StevieVee)