Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers DBPro Corner / I'm a complete begginner.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I'm a complete beginner at this. This is the most stupid question ever but here it goes, Where do i start?
comando 300
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th Feb 2004 23:26 Edited at: 18th Feb 2004 23:27
1)Read the User Manual
2)Make some tutorials
3)Practice

I recommend to start by making a Pong game(or something like that), so read the Chris Knott tutorial!
http://darkbasic.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=22030&b=7

CURRENT PROJECT: RETRO PAC-MAN
HZence
Years of Service
User Offline
Beginner at what? Game development? Or programming in general?

If you've never programmed before, don't dive right into game development. Do something simpler, like experiment with text commands. Find scenarios and try to program them, like this:

Quote: "You have been hired by a local bank to make automatic teller program. The program should be able to withdraw and deposit money from an account. After any transaction, the user should be informed of the change."

Simple enough I suppose

Team EOD :: Programmer/Storyboard Assistant
comando 300
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Feb 2004 03:56 Edited at: 20th Feb 2004 03:56
Check to the code snippet I made the "bank" code.

Make a search "The Bank"

CURRENT PROJECT: RETRO PAC-MAN
Obear
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Feb 2004 03:37 Edited at: 21st Feb 2004 03:44
Were do you start?? WOW BIG question, when your new

There is no real easy way to start, no real quick fix or quick programing solution. Bark Basic is a "Simple" to understand programing language compaired to alot of tohers like C++ etc, but you still need to actuall Learn how to program.